Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CPCC Library logo

Central Piedmont Library Newsletter: October 2022

Archives Corner

October is Archives Month! Every year, the Society of American Archivists (SAA) initiates a month-long celebration in October, highlighting a variety of archives and archivists throughout the United States and encouraging people to explore historical records at their local institutions. 

There are multiple ways to celebrate Archives Month at Central Piedmont:

  • Plan a visit to the new Central Piedmont Archives (Central Campus, Parr Center, Hagemeyer Library, Room 3250).

  • Explore our virtual exhibits and primary resource guides for instruction.

  • Attend our Citizen Archivist workshop on Tuesday, October 18th (12:00-1:00pm, Hagemeyer Library, Room 2180). This workshop is planned in collaboration with the Central Piedmont History Club. Register here!

  • Explore our digital databases: CONTENTdm and ArchivesSpace

The Central Piedmont Archives identifies, collects, and preserves materials that relate to the history of Central Piedmont as well as its purpose, mission, and vision in the Charlotte metropolitan region. Our collections are available to Central Piedmont faculty, staff, students, and members of the general public for research, as well as instruction and programming opportunities. For more information, please visit our website.

New Titles

Check out our new titles for this month!

Central Piedmont New Titles

Need Help with Citations?

Video Resources

Films on Demand New Titles

Newly added Films on Demand titles for this month can be found here. 160 new titles were recently added, covering a wide variety of subjects. Be sure to check back next month for more new titles!

 

Interested in a Tour? Sign Up!

Are you interested in touring the new Hagemeyer Library at Central Piedmont Community College? Please complete this form at least one week in advance and a member of our staff will be in touch to finalize a date and time. Tours take a minimum of one hour, but can be designed for longer depending on the request.

Can't make it in person? Check out our virtual tour online!

Library Events

Database of the Month

Need the latest news from The Charlotte Observer, but don't have a subscription to it? You can access today's Charlotte Observer news (and all the news from 1985 to present) via our subscription to NewsBank! In addition to The Charlotte Observer, NewsBank offers access to hundreds of news sources from across North Carolina, the United States, and the world. 

Check out this resource today to see what it might have to offer you!  It can be accessed here or from the Find Articles section of the library website.

If you have any questions about the use of this database, you can contact the library at 704.330.6885.

Gullah Geechee Heritage Month

October is Gullah/Geechee Cultural Heritage Awareness Month! The Gullah/Geechee people are descendents of enslaved Africans who lived on the barrier islands off the coasts of North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, and northern Florida.

Check out these resources to familiarize yourself with the history and legacy of a rich, vibrant culture of some of our earliest Carolinians.

Books

Videos

Gullah Geechee Food Traditions

Gullah Traditions of the South Carolina Coast

A Vanishing History: Gullah Geeche Nation