InfoGuides: Central Piedmont Library Newsletter: April 2022

New Titles

Check out our new titles for this month!

Need Help with Citations?

Citation Help
Need help with citations? Have a look at our citation guide!

Video Resources

Newly added Films on Demand titles for this month can be found here. 618 new titles were recently added, covering a wide variety of subjects. No subjects directly relevant to your area this month? That could change in the future as hundreds of new titles are added each month. Be sure to check back each month!

Archives Corner

Did You Know?

Maya Angelou spoke as a distinguished lecturer at Central Piedmont on March 26, 1992.

During the event, she recited poetry by Nikki Giovanni and Langston Hughes, as well as her own poem, "And Still I Rise".

From the April 1992 edition of the student newspaper, The Spark

Courtesy of Central Piedmont Archives

Have a question about the history of Central Piedmont? Contact our college archivist, Erin Allsop!

Welcome JC Clark to the Central Piedmont Library!

JC Clark recently joined the staff of the Central Piedmont Library as an instruction librarian.

Q: What do you do and how does that serve our students, faculty, and staff?
A: I’m the Instruction & Student Success Librarian at Central. I support students & faculty by providing classroom, embedded, & one-on-one information literacy instruction & assistance.

Q: Where are you from originally?
A: Charlotte

Q: What was the last book you read?
A: My Family & Other Animals by Gerald Durrell

Q: Where is the most interesting place you've been?
A: The amazing, the colossal, the stupendous, the 8th wonder of the
world…the back side of water! at Disney World’s Jungle Cruise

Q: What was your most memorable job, prior to working at CPCC?
A: Instruction Librarian at South Piedmont Community College

National Poetry Month Resources

April is National Poetry Month. To learn more about this observance, check out the Academy of American Poets site.

Have a look at our guide about poetry at Presidential inaugurations.
The library provides access to several databases about poetry. They can be found here

Some films about poets and poetry (CPCC Login may be required):

Poetry: Richard Blanco from CBS This Morning
Poetry and Its Relevance: An Experiment
Know Your Poetry: Unstructured Poetry
Amanda Gorman on How She Prepared for Inauguration Day
Intimate Profiles of Five Major Poets - features poets John Ashbery, Louise Glick, Anthony Hecht, Kay Ryan, and W.S. Merwin

Database of the Month

Ebook Central contains over 200,000 books that cover numerous subjects, including arts, business, education, health & medicine, history, political science, religion, science and more. With more classes online, Ebook Central can play an essential part in your students research assignments.

You can find Ebook Central on our Find Articles page or access it directly here.

Need help using Ebook Central? There are helpful videos here or you can contact the library directly at 704.330.6885.

Recently Added Databases

The library has recently added a number of new databases to our collection. Check out a selection of them below!

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online contains more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Black Thought and Culture contains approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history.
Disability in the Modern World This link opens in a new window
Disability in the Modern World contains a comprehensive set of resources focused on disability and pulls from a wide range of disciplines from media studies to philosophy.
Environmental Issues Online This link opens in a new window
Environmental Issues Online focuses on key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more.
Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Food Studies Online provides researchers archival content, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us.

Examples of topics covered in the collection: Organic Farming/Small Farms, School lunch programs, Childhood nutrition, Marketing and advertising, Packaging, Food industry, Environmental impact of GMOs, US food programs during WWI/WWII, Food security, Famine, Vegetarianism, Labor practices, Food safety, Wine making, Obesity, Gender roles through history, Food habits around the world and more.
History Vault, 1812-1995 This link opens in a new window
Major collection areas in History Vault focus on the Black Freedom Movement of the 20th Century, Southern Life and Slavery, Women's Rights, International Relations, American Politics and Society with a strong focus on the 20th Century, and labor unions, workers and radical politics in the 20th Century.
LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals.
Twentieth Century North American Drama This link opens in a new window
Twentieth Century North American Drama contains 2,050+ plays from the United States and Canada. In addition to providing a comprehensive full-text resource for students in the performing arts, the collection offers a unique window into the economic, historical, social, and political psyche of two countries. Scholars and students who use the database will have a new way to study the signal events of the twentieth century. including the Depression, the role of women, the Cold War, and more—through the plays and performances of writers who lived through these decades.

For a complete listing of all recently added databases, check out the New and Trial Databases section located on this page - https://researchguides.cpcc.edu/az.php