"Check out the latest edition of "For the Record", the Central Piedmont Archives newsletter! Readers will hear more about recent visits from the Central Piedmont Early College and the Board of Trustees; research access to the papers of Dr. Richard Hagemeyer; a tale from the archives about the International Christmas Celebration; and more! As we approach the holiday season, we are grateful for all of the collaborations, support and interest in what the Archives department provides to the College over this past year. For questions or ideas on future projects, please don't hesitate to email Erin Allsop or Johnamarie Macias at archives@cpcc.edu."
The Central Piedmont Archives identifies, collects, and preserves materials that relate to the history of Central Piedmont as well as its purpose, mission, and vision in the Charlotte metropolitan region. Our collections are available to Central Piedmont faculty, staff, students, and members of the general public for research, as well as instruction and programming opportunities. For more information, please visit our website.
The Center for Digital Equity (CDE) at Queens University recognized the Central Piedmont Community College as an Innovation Partner. This recognition is based on the library's partnership with the CDE, led by Don Michael, to inform Central Piedmont students about the Affordable Connectivity Program (ACP). The ACP is designed to offer affordable internet access and device vouchers to the local community. The program will commence in January 2024
Dr. Deitemeyer and Dr. Hill visiting the Makerspace with the Central Piedmont Board of Trustees
Board of Trustees Visit the College Archives
Each year, Central Piedmont Library participates in a community service day. This year, we served at the Crisis Assistance Ministry and enjoyed a morning of socializing with our coworkers while serving others.
The Library and ALC celebrated our annual Holiday party on December 15th with games, music, sweet treats, and lunch.
Muggsy Bogues visits the Parr Center
Harris Campus Library celebrated National Family History Month with a Finding your Roots display
Emily Leachman
Assistant Director of Public Services
Central Campus
Emily Leachman is responsible for the workflow of circulation, reference, and other public services duties across all libraries and for providing administrative leadership and support to the campus librarians at each library location.
Jeremy Clark
Senior Librarian Assessment & Instruction
Central Campus
J.C. has assumed the role of Assessment and Instruction Librarian. He coordinates the Library’s information literacy and instruction program, with a focus on the assessment of instructional models and library services.
Brittany Clinkscales
Librarian
Harper Campus
Brittany is the Harper Campus Library Manager and is responsible for providing reference and instructional services, supervising projects and part-time staff, and managing the daily operations for the Harper Campus Library.
Johnamarie Macias
Librarian - Archivist
Central Campus
Johnamarie, former Archives Assistant, has been promoted to Librarian-Archivist and is responsible for the development of archives as well as training students, faculty, and staff to use archival resources.
Doreen Anglis
Public Services Librarian
Central Campus
Doreen provides reference and instructional services, digital literacy training, and staffs public services desks.
LaVette Black (Library Technical Assistant - Central Campus) works in the Resource Services area and performs the following tasks: processes newly cataloged library materials for use, packs and distributes materials to branch libraries, shelves materials, and staffs public services desks.
Appollonia Smith (Work Study - Archives - Central Campus) - assists Archives staff with scanning college publications and organizing resources, such as the Reading Room collection.
Access to live and on-demand courses, interactive coding environments, certification prep materials, and a vast collection of books, audiobooks, and videos from O’Reilly and nearly 200 other publishers
The Central Piedmont Library Makerspace is showcasing creations made by students, faculty, and staff in our space.
Danny Perez, student, designed a stand for a PS5 controller and headphones. He utilized multiple 3D prints for the base and used a 3D pen to add embellishments and details. Danny was introduced to 3D printing at Central Piedmont and stated, “I never thought of creating 3D prints until I arrived [at Central Piedmont].” Danny adds, “One of the things I really appreciate is the people who have helped me and guided me in understanding how things work in general. When I started, I was completely lost and didn't know what to do, but every librarian and the makerspace team provided invaluable assistance with my project.”
If you, or someone you know, created something in the Makerspace and would like to be spotlighted, submit this form, and we will be in touch.
For more information about the Library Makerspace please visit our makerspace guide
