On May 8, 1978, Betty Friedan, founder of the National Organization for Women and Phyllis Schlafly, leader of the Stop ERA movement, appeared separately at Central Piedmont to discuss the Equal Rights Amendment to the U.S. Constitution. For more information about the ERA, please visit this website.
Text from the above image is below:
"I don't like to debate with Phyllis Schlafly because she is a liar," said Betty Friedan, founder of the National Organization for Women.
Schlafly, leader of the Stop-ERA movement, and Friedan will be on campus on May 8 to present their views on the ERA issue, but they will appear at different times and will not participate in a debate.
In a telephone interview, David Raey, assistant to Phyllis Schlafly, said that Friedan and other pro-ERA leaders were afraid to debate with Schlafly because her arguments were so accurate. "The ERA has a euphemistic appeal, but Phyllis always deals with facts and real issues," said Raey.
Friedan said that she sees no point in debating with someone who lies. "I'm not going to dignify her lies with my presence," she said.
In rebuttal Schlafly said, "She only said that because she always loses when we debate. I address myself to the issues and will not resort to personal attack. She does make wild charges and has said some ugly things about me. She said on the radio once that she would like to burn me at the stake. She doesn't tell the truth."
Students will have an opportunity to judge for themselves which speaker uses the most valid arguments on May 8, in Pease Auditorium. Schlafly will appear from 12 noon to 12:45 and Friedan will speak from 1 p.m. to 1 :45. Admission is $1 for each lecture. Advance tickets are on sale at the information desk in Taylor (Activities) Building."
The Central Piedmont Archives identifies, collects, and preserves materials that relate to the history of Central Piedmont as well as its purpose, mission, and vision in the Charlotte metropolitan region. Our collections are available to Central Piedmont faculty, staff, students, and members of the general public for research, as well as instruction and programming opportunities. For more information, please visit our website.
Check out our new titles for this month!
Newly added Films on Demand titles for this month can be found here. 78 new titles were recently added, covering a wide variety of subjects. Be sure to check back next month for more new titles!
Throughout 2023, the National Women's History Alliance (NWHA) will encourage the recognition of women, past and present, who have been active in all forms of media and storytelling including print, radio, TV, stage, screen, blogs, podcasts, news, and social media. This timely theme honors women in every community who have devoted their lives and talents to producing art and news, pursuing truth and reflecting society decade after decade.
For more information about Women's History Month, check out our exhibit guide.
Streaming video resources from Films on Demand related to women's history. You may be prompted to enter your Central Piedmont login for access.
Central Piedmont Library has several resources relevant to Women's History Month. Check them out below!
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries - This collection includes the experiences of approximately 500 women, spanning over 300 years, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters.
Contemporary Women's Issues OneFile - Offers comprehensive coverage of issues that influence women’s lives across the globe, including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.
Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries - This collection brings together thousands of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries - Over 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials depicting the personal experiences of hundreds of women. Contains materials from Colonial times to 1950.
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820 - Explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices.
Women and Social Movements, International - 1840 to Present - Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.
If you have any questions about the use of these resources, you can contact the library at 704.330.6885.