InfoGuides: Central Piedmont Library Newsletter: May 2022

New Titles

Check out our new titles for this month!

Need Help with Citations?

Citation Help
Need help with citations? Have a look at our citation guide!

Video Resources

Newly added Films on Demand titles for this month can be found here. 59 new titles were recently added, covering a wide variety of subjects. No subjects directly relevant to your area this month? That could change in the future as hundreds of new titles are added each month. Be sure to check back each month!

Archives Corner

Central Piedmont students win First Place in the First Annual Southeastern Clean Air Vehicle Road Rally in 1971. Students who built the car: Ricky Rogers (driver), Jeff Brown (navigator), Eddie Williamson (mechanic), Reuben Plaza (electrical technician), with faculty advisors Ronald Gyles and Robert Fussell (back center, wearing ties). Image is hyperlinked.

From the May 1971 edition of the student newspaper, The Prospector

Courtesy of Central Piedmont Archives

Have a question about the history of Central Piedmont? Contact our college archivist, Erin Allsop at erin.allsop@cpcc.edu.

Mental Health Awareness Month

May is Mental Health Awareness Month. To learn more about this observance, check out the National Alliance on Mental Illness site.

Some ebooks about mental health issues (CPCC Login may be required):

Some films about mental health issues (CPCC Login may be required):

Need help? You can text HOME to the Crisis Text Line at 741741 to reach a Crisis Counselor.

The Crisis Text Line provides help with a variety of issues, including: anxiety, depression, self harm, eating disorders, and other mental health issues.

You may also call the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 1-800-273-8255 to speak to someone at a crisis center about any mental health crisis that you may be experiencing.

Beginning on July 16, 2022, the new three-digit dialing code, 988, will route callers to the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline. While some areas may be currently able to connect to the Lifeline by dialing 988, this dialing code will be available to everyone across the United States in the coming months.

Database of the Month

Academic Video Online contains over 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. It includes newsreels, award-winning documentaries, field recordings, interviews, lectures, training videos, and exclusive primary footage. Students can include these videos in PowerPoint presentations for class and instructors can embed them in their online courses.

Check out this resource today to see what it might have to offer you! Academic Video Online may be accessed here or from the F ind Articles section of the library website.

If you have any questions about the use of this database, you can contact the library at 704.330.6885.

Recently Added Databases

The library has recently added a number of new databases to our collection. Check out a selection of them below!

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online contains more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Black Thought and Culture contains approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history.
Disability in the Modern World This link opens in a new window
Disability in the Modern World contains a comprehensive set of resources focused on disability and pulls from a wide range of disciplines from media studies to philosophy.
Environmental Issues Online This link opens in a new window
Environmental Issues Online focuses on key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more.
Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Food Studies Online provides researchers archival content, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us.
History Vault, 1812-1995 This link opens in a new window
Major collection areas in History Vault focus on the Black Freedom Movement of the 20th Century, Southern Life and Slavery, Women's Rights, International Relations, American Politics and Society with a strong focus on the 20th Century, and labor unions, workers and radical politics in the 20th Century.
LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals.
Twentieth Century North American Drama This link opens in a new window
Twentieth Century North American Drama contains 2,050+ plays from the United States and Canada. In addition to providing a comprehensive full-text resource for students in the performing arts, the collection offers a unique window into the economic, historical, social, and political psyche of two countries. Scholars and students who use the database will have a new way to study the signal events of the twentieth century. including the Depression, the role of women, the Cold War, and more—through the plays and performances of writers who lived through these decades.

For a complete listing of all recently added databases, check out the New and Trial Databases section located on this page - https://researchguides.cpcc.edu/az.php