The Central Piedmont College Archives now has a monthly newsletter. This is an excellent way to keep up with the goings-on in this area of the college!
The Central Piedmont Archives identifies, collects, and preserves materials that relate to the history of Central Piedmont as well as its purpose, mission, and vision in the Charlotte metropolitan region. Our collections are available to Central Piedmont faculty, staff, students, and members of the general public for research, as well as instruction and programming opportunities. For more information, please visit our website.
Check out our new titles for this month!
Newly added Films on Demand titles for this month can be found here. 38 new titles were recently added, covering a wide variety of subjects. Be sure to check back next month for more new titles!
Are you interested in touring the new Hagemeyer Library at Central Piedmont Community College? Please complete this form at least one week in advance and a member of our staff will be in touch to finalize a date and time. Tours take a minimum of one hour, but can be designed for longer depending on the request.
Can't make it in person? Check out our virtual tour online!
Learning Express Library Complete and PrepStep Academic is a resource that offers targeted learning designed to help students achieve a wide variety of learning goals. The many areas covered include:
Check out this resource today to see what it might have to offer you! It can be accessed here or from the Find Articles section of the library website.
If you have any questions about the use of this database, you can contact the library at 704.330.6885.
November is Native American Heritage Month. In 1990 President George H. W. Bush approved a joint resolution designating November 1990 “National American Indian Heritage Month.” Similar proclamations, under variants on the name (including “Native American Heritage Month” and “National American Indian and Alaska Native Heritage Month”) have been issued each year since 1994. For more information, check out our exhibit guide on Native American Heritage Month.
You can also find additional Native American Heritage Month related resources below:
Museum of the American Indian Online Programs - Throughout the month of November, the Museum of the American Indian will be hosting several online programs dealing with the Native American experience.
Tribal Nations and the United States: An Introduction - From the National Congress of American Indians, this guide provides comprehensive information about how tribes are set up, their relationship to the federal government, and issues such as taxation, education, and health care
Tribal Directory - From the National Congress of American Indians, this searchable directory contains information about various American Indian tribes, including what type of recognition the tribe has (state or federal) and links to tribe websites
Native American Heritage Month from PBS - Features numerous documentaries and short films about Native American history, as well as contemporary Native life
Treaties Explorer - Created by the Museum of Indian Arts and Culture in Santa Fe, New Mexico and in partnership with the US National Archives Treaties Explorer provides access to 374 Ratified Indian Treaties found in the National Archives holdings
Image credit: George Catlin, Buffalo Bull, Grazing on the Prairie, 1832-1833, oil on canvas, Smithsonian
American Art Museum, Gift of Mrs. Joseph Harrison, Jr., 1985.66.404
Streaming videos from Films on Demand about the Native American experience. You may be prompted to enter your Central Piedmont login for access.