At Central Piedmont, the athletics programs of our past were a source of school spirit. Whether it was a sport played at an intercollegiate level or a recreational match on a Saturday afternoon, students from all walks of life came together for the love of the game. Over the course of 30 years, our sports teams ebbed and flowed in terms of participation and support, but this exhibition showcases how the athleticism, teamwork, and school spirit were a driving force behind each version of The Tigers sports teams.
"For the Love of the Game - The History of Athletics at Central Piedmont Community College" explores the various intercollegiate and intramural sports previously offered at the college, specifically basketball, cheerleading, soccer, and football. Artifacts on display were accumulated over the years from public donations and internal donations from Student Life, Student Engagement, and Facilities Services.
Special thanks to Bo Hightower, Isaiah Phifer, and the Club Football team for contributing to our growing Central Piedmont Athletics Collection. We would also like to thank photographer Patrick Chabai for the use of his Central Piedmont soccer photographs.
A handwritten document written in 1989-1990 describing the athletics program at Central Piedmont Community College. The author describes the intramural sports, club sports, and intercollegiate sports available at the time as well as the stipulations regarding qualifications to try out and/or play on these teams. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
Tip: Right-click and open the image in a new tab to read the full document.
A handwritten document written in 1989-1990 describing the athletics program at Central Piedmont Community College. The author describes the intramural sports, club sports, and intercollegiate sports available at the time as well as the stipulations regarding qualifications to try out and/or play on these teams. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
Tip: Right-click and open the image in a new tab to read the full document.
A handwritten document written in 1989-1990 describing the athletics program at Central Piedmont Community College. The author describes the intramural sports, club sports, and intercollegiate sports available at the time as well as the stipulations regarding qualifications to try out and/or play on these teams. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
Tip: Right-click and open the image in a new tab to read the full document.
A handwritten document written in 1989-1990 describing the athletics program at Central Piedmont Community College. The author describes the intramural sports, club sports, and intercollegiate sports available at the time as well as the stipulations regarding qualifications to try out and/or play on these teams. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
Tip: Right-click and open the image in a new tab to read the full document.
A handwritten document written in 1989-1990 describing the athletics program at Central Piedmont Community College. The author describes the intramural sports, club sports, and intercollegiate sports available at the time as well as the stipulations regarding qualifications to try out and/or play on these teams. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
Tip: Right-click and open the image in a new tab to read the full document.
Central Piedmont pennants throughout the decades. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
Central Piedmont pennants throughout the decades. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
Top: "For the Love of the Game: The History of Athletics at Central Piedmont Community College" banner featuring photos and publications from the Central Piedmont Archives as well as a photo (of the soccer player) by Patrick Chabai.
Left: A handwritten document and Central Piedmont pennants throughout the decades. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)