Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CPCC Library logo

Central Piedmont Library Newsletter: September 2022

Archives Corner

Central Piedmont Archives staff has curated an exhibition entitled "Creative Outlets: 60 Years of Achievements in the Arts and Advocacy." This is a collaborative exhibition displaying works of art preserved in the archives, as well as materials loaned from the art galleries, engineering courses, student life, and student engagement.

The exhibit is located in the hallway directly around the corner from the archives department (Hagemeyer Library, Third Floor, Room 3250) and is viewable during normal library hours. For those unable to visit the Central Campus, an online guide is also available: https://researchguides.cpcc.edu/creativeoutletsexhibit.

The exhibit will be on display through December.

Have a question about the history of Central Piedmont? Contact our college archivist, Erin Allsop at erin.allsop@cpcc.edu.

Library Events

New Titles

Check out our new titles for this month!

Central Piedmont New Titles

Need Help with Citations?

Video Resources

Films on Demand New Titles

Newly added Films on Demand titles for this month can be found here. 83 new titles were recently added, covering a wide variety of subjects. Be sure to check back next month for more new titles!

 

Database of the Month

Transparent Language Online is an online language learning tool that provides a fun, effective, and engaging experience for learners of all levels. Combining robust courses, supplemental vocabulary, extensive grammar resources, and mobile apps, it is an excellent resource for anyone looking to build their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in a new language. It has over 110 languages to choose from, including several native/indigenous languages, such as Hawaiian, Maori, Cherokee, and Dakota.

Hispanic Heritage Month is September 15 to October 15 and would be a great time to use Transparent Language learn a little bit of Spanish! 

Check out this resource today to see what it might have to offer you!  It can be accessed here or from the Find Articles section of the library website.

If you have any questions about the use of this database, you can contact the library at 704.330.6885.

Check Out the New Makerspace!

3D Printing at the Makerspace

How do I get started with 3D printing?

3D printing will be administered through 3DPrinterOSTo get started printing watch this short video.

There are numerous websites where you can download 3D models. These are just a few. Please note that while the majority of these files are available for free some might also charge for certain models.

Thingiverse.com

Cults3D.com

Printables.com

MyMiniFactory.com

Pinshape.com

Thangs.com

YouMagazine.com

Interested in creating your own 3D model? 

There are numerous options available to create 3D models. Here are a just a few.

  • Tinkercad is a good place to start if you are new to 3D modeling. It is a free program that runs in  your browser. You can design things with basic shapes. Tinkercad can be easy to start using without much instruction but to learn more about the features you can take this LinkedIn Learning training (requires a Central Piedmont login).
  • Blender is a free and open-source software that is used for many things such as animation, visual effects, and 3D models. The learning curve for Blender can be a little steeper, however, there are tutorials available as well as this LinkedIn Learning training (requires a Central Piedmont login).
  • Fusion360 - free for educational use
  • Autocad - free educational license
  • OpenSCAD - Free script-based modeling software.

Makerspace 3D Printing Policies

  • 1 print per day maximum.
  • 3D prints can be no longer than 12 hours in length.
  • Print jobs must be sent at least 45 minutes before closing. Prints sent after that time will be started the next day/available time.
  • The makerspace uses PLA filament. We cannot guarantee a particular filament color for your prints. You do not have to be present for the duration of your print. Once your print is finished it will be held for 7 business days (including Saturday). If your print is not picked up within 7 days it will be considered abandoned.
  • Printing weapon related items (includes prop items and anything resembling a weapon) or any explicit items will not be permitted. Decisions by Makerspace staff regarding unacceptable items are final

For more information, see our Makerspace guide about 3D printing.

Interested in a Tour? Sign Up!

Are you interested in touring the new Hagemeyer Library at Central Piedmont Community College? Please complete this form at least one week in advance and a member of our staff will be in touch to finalize a date and time. Tours take a minimum of one hour, but can be designed for longer depending on the request.

Can't make it in person? Check out our virtual tour online!