Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CPCC Library logo

Central Piedmont Library Newsletter: August 2022

Library Events

New Titles

Check out our new titles for this month!

Central Piedmont New Titles

Archives Corner

Central Piedmont Archives staff has curated an exhibition entitled "Creative Outlets: 60 Years of Achievements in the Arts and Advocacy." This is a collaborative exhibition displaying works of art preserved in the archives, as well as materials loaned from the art galleries, engineering courses, student life, and student engagement.

The exhibit is located in the hallway directly around the corner from the archives department (Hagemeyer Library, Third Floor, Room 3250) and is viewable during normal library hours. For those unable to visit the Central Campus, an online guide is also available: https://researchguides.cpcc.edu/creativeoutletsexhibit.

The exhibit will be on display through December.

Have a question about the history of Central Piedmont? Contact our college archivist, Erin Allsop at erin.allsop@cpcc.edu.

Need Help with Citations?

Video Resources

Films on Demand New Titles

Newly added Films on Demand titles for this month can be found here. 78 new titles were recently added, covering a wide variety of subjects. Be sure to check back next month for more new titles!

 

Check Out the New Makerspace!

What is a Makerspace?

A makerspace is a collaborative work space that allows someone to enter with an idea for a project and leave with a finished product. The makerspace at the Central Campus Library offers 3D printing, laser engraving and cutting, sewing and embroidery, vinyl cutting, large format printing, and an array of arts and craft supplies to help you get started making.

For more information about our Makerspace, check out our guide.

Interested in a Tour? Sign Up!

Are you interested in touring the new Hagemeyer Library at Central Piedmont Community College? Please complete this form at least one week in advance and a member of our staff will be in touch to finalize a date and time. Tours take a minimum of one hour, but can be designed for longer depending on the request.

Can't make it in person? Check out our virtual tour online!

Database of the Month

CultureGrams is an extensive resource that provides reliable cultural information on the countries of the world, including perspectives on daily life and culture such as dating and marriage, holidays, diet, and personal appearance. Additionally, CultureGrams includes such features as recipes, photos, infographics, personal interviews, and graphs and tables with lots of different country data.

CultureGrams also offers a States Edition and a Provinces Edition, which focus on the various states of the U.S. and Canada, respectively.

Check out this resource today to see what it might have to offer you!  It can be accessed here or from the Find Articles section of the library website.

If you have any questions about the use of this database, you can contact the library at 704.330.6885.