CPCC Library logo

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New and Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or are being evaluated for future purchase.
New
Academic Video Online contains more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
New
Alexander Street contains thousands of articles and videos on a wide variety of subjects, including history, literature, performing arts, and others. Alexander Street allows you to search all of the databases below from one place. Databases may also be accessed individually to allow for a more focused search.
Academic Video Online
Black Thought and Culture
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
Civil War Letters and Diaries
Disability in the Modern World
Early Encounters in North America
Environmental Issues Online
Film Scripts Online
Food Studies Online
Human Rights Studies Online
LGBT Thought and Culture
Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
North American Indian Thought and Culture
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Performance Design Archive Online
Revolution and Protest Online
Social Work Online
The Gilded Age
The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960–1974
Twentieth Century North American Drama
Women and Social Movements, International
Women and Social Movements, Modern Empires Since 1820
New
This Civil War history database contains firsthand descriptions of historical characters, glimpses of daily life in the army, anecdotes about key events and personages, and tales of sufferings at home.
New
Over 12,000 videos covering the history of America from pre-Columbian times to present. Includes the following Ken Burns series: The Civil War, Jazz, The West, and America
New
Over 1,500 videos covering all aspects of art and architecture
New
Over 1,500 videos related to the history and culture of Asian countries and people
New
Over 1,800 videos covering all aspects of Black studies, including theatre, literature, and civil rights
New
Black Thought and Culture contains approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history.
New
This collection includes the experiences of approximately 500 women, spanning over 300 years, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters.
New
Over 500 videos related to cooking, including chef profiles and cooking techniques
New
Over 800 videos concerning criminal justice and public safety issues
New
Disability in the Modern World contains a comprehensive set of resources focused on disability and pulls from a wide range of disciplines from media studies to philosophy.
New
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women
New
Over 6,000 videos covering various aspects of education, including classroom management, educational theories, and educational history
New
Environmental Issues Online focuses on key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more.
New
Over 2,000 videos on environmental studies
New
The Film Scripts Online Series contains over 1,100 scripts and makes available, for the first time, accurate and authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays. Now film scholars can compare the writer’s vision with the producer’s and director’s interpretations from page to screen.
New
Food Studies Online provides researchers archival content, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us.

Examples of topics covered in the collection: Organic Farming/Small Farms, School lunch programs, Childhood nutrition, Marketing and advertising, Packaging, Food industry, Environmental impact of GMOs, US food programs during WWI/WWII, Food security, Famine, Vegetarianism, Labor practices, Food safety, Wine making, Obesity, Gender roles through history, Food habits around the world and more.
New
The Gilded Age brings primary documents and scholarly commentary together into a searchable collection that is the definitive electronic resource for students and scholars researching this period in American history (1870-1900).
New
Over 3,000 videos related to health sciences
New
Major collection areas in History Vault focus on the Black Freedom Movement of the 20th Century, Southern Life and Slavery, Women's Rights, International Relations, American Politics and Society with a strong focus on the 20th Century, and labor unions, workers and radical politics in the 20th Century.
New
Human Rights Studies Online is a research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and others,
New
Over 300 videos related to the Latino experience, including history and culture
New
Over 600 videos related to LGBT studies
New
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals.
New
Over 1,800 literature related videos, including content from PBS and BBC
New
This collection will brings together thousands of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts.
New
Over 3,000 videos covering all aspects of music, dance, and theatre. Includes performances.
New
New Directions for Community Colleges offers practical recommendations on current trends in the field of community college education. With fully indexed and self-contained edited volumes, New Directions for Community Colleges includes contributions from community college leaders and researchers through evidence-based and research-oriented accounts that shape policy and practice.
New
Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, this collection provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950.
New
North American Indian Thought and Culture brings together the history of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Peoples. It contains autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files.
New
Over 3,000 videos covering all aspects of nursing, including anatomy, and patient assessment and care
Trial
O’Reilly for Higher Education provides access to a vast collection of titles (including O’Reilly books in early release), videos, case studies, learning paths, expert playlists, and more from O’Reilly and nearly 200 other publishers

To access this trial:
After clicking the link for O'Reilly, you will be presented with a screen with a dropdown listing of institutions that subscribe to O'Reilly. Central Piedmont is NOT listed here. Click Institution Not Listed? Then enter your Central Piedmont email address when prompted. Access to this trial will only work with a current Central Piedmont email address.
New
Performance Design Archive Online covers all aspects of theater production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, and makeup.
New
Over 1,000 videos covering various political and social movements, including civil rights, communist revolutions, the French Revolution and more
New
Over 3,000 videos covering politics and current affairs
New
ProQuest® Congressional allows you to explore Congress in action with the most comprehensive online resource available for congressional publications and legislative research. You can perform in-depth research in public policy, historical, and legal areas of interest.
New
Revolution and Protest Online provides comprehensive, comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of political processes through the lens of revolutions, protests, resistance and social movements from the 18th century through the 21st century.
New
Over 4,500 videos covering various aspects of science
New
Social Work Online is a multimedia resource that combines video, compelling documentaries and client demonstrations, with relevant text content to illustrate the complex and challenging realities social work students will face as practitioners.
New
The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960–1974 brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.
New
Over 1,000 videos covering all aspects of theatre, including performances from the Royal National Theatre and Royal Shakespeare Company
New
Twentieth Century North American Drama contains 2,050+ plays from the United States and Canada. In addition to providing a comprehensive full-text resource for students in the performing arts, the collection offers a unique window into the economic, historical, social, and political psyche of two countries. Scholars and students who use the database will have a new way to study the signal events of the twentieth century. including the Depression, the role of women, the Cold War, and more—through the plays and performances of writers who lived through these decades.
New
U.K. Parliamentary Papers provides complete online coverage of the sessional papers of the British House of Commons and the 19th Century House of Lords. It includes detailed primary source for the history of Britain, its colonies, and the wider world. It covers working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy.
New
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820 explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices.
New
Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.
New
Over 7,000 videos covering world history
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...