From the Tigers basketball team to the Tiger's Den (Central Piedmont's former Student Center eating area), the tiger has a long history of representing Central Piedmont Community College. It also goes back farther than the College's inception in 1963.
Both Central High School (1923-1959) and Second Ward High School (1923-1969) — two institutions closely related to Central Piedmont's history — had similar mascots. Second Ward's football and basketball teams were known as the Second Ward Tigers. While not exactly a tiger, Central High School's mascot was another feline friend: the Wildcats.
On display is the Tiger mascot, which was worn at games and other college activities. There was a short period of time when it had gone missing, but it was discovered by Jennifer Conway in a storage closet at the Cato Campus and it now lives at the Central Piedmont Archives for future students, faculty, and staff to enjoy.
The Tiger Mascot. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
The Tiger Mascot. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
The Tiger pictured with Student Life at the South Campus, 1990s. Today, the South Campus is known as the Levine Campus. (Source: CPA.050 - Student Life Collection)
A motivational poster encouraging students to "Focus on Learning," 2005. (Source: CPA.050 - Student Life Collection)
A memo sent to Dr. Richard Hagemeyer, Central’s Piedmont’s first president, informing him of the newly named eating area for students, “The Tiger’s Den.” (Source: CPA.003 - Presidential Papers Collection)
Tip: Right-click and open the image in a new tab to read the full document.
A different version of the Tiger mascot participating as a spectator at a Tigers basketball game. Photo by Johnie Roberts, 1991. (Source: CPA.050 - College Publications Collection)
A drawing of the Tiger holding a CPCC pennant. The original artist is unknown, but it was recreated by Johnamarie Macias. (Source: CPA.050 - Student Life Collection)
Top Left: The Tiger listening to a local band playing at a college event, 2001-2002. (Source: CPA.050 - Student Life Collection)
Top Right/Bottom Left: The Tiger wearing Valentine’s Day themed shorts and posing with Central Piedmont staff and students. (Source: CPA.050 - Student Life Collection)
Bottom Right: The Tiger cheering during a college event, early 2000s. (Source: CPA.050 - Student Life Collection)
