Intramural basketball dates back to 1966. The first Central Piedmont team played in a city league in the winter of 1968 and competed against teams from area companies, like Aetna Life, Humble Oil, and Southern Bell.
On February 4, 1969, the team played in its first intercollegiate match, beating Rowan Technical Institute (today known as Rowan-Cabarrus Community College) 96-63. Buoyed by this success, tryouts for Central Piedmont's first varsity team were held in October 1969 and a school-wide contest was held to name the new team. The winner was the CPCC Tigers.
Over the next 30 years, both men’s and women’s basketball teams played in a number of intramural and varsity leagues. In February 1995, the CPCC Tigers were ranked fourth in the nation by the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) and had won many awards and championships.
The Tigers played their last intercollegiate game in the spring of 1997. However, a basketball team still existed past 1997, playing on a recreation league level, and participated in the Mecklenburg Park and Recreation League.
CPCC Tigers basketball jersey, #33. Donated by Bo Hightower. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
“College Basketball In Turtle Necks” news article, dated February 1969, detailing the first official game against Rowan Tech. The Central Piedmont basketball team wore mock turtlenecks with “CPCC” across the chest. (Source: “A History of CPCC,” CPA.041 - History Room Collection)
Tip: Right-click and open the image in a new tab to read the full document.
The men’s basketball team. (Source: CPA.036 - Photographs and Negatives Collection)
In November 1969, students voted to name the men’s basketball team. The winning name, with 249 votes, was the Tigers. (Source: CPA.003 - Presidential Papers Collection)
“Small and Awesome” news article from The Spark (Vol. 9, No. 3, November 22, 1983). (Source: CPA.035 - College Publications Collection)
Tip: Right-click and open the image in a new tab to read the full document.
“The Lady Tigers Bare Their Fangs!” by Michelle Byrd from The Spark (Vol. 7, No. 2, February 28, 1983). (Source: CPA.035 - College Publications Collection)
Tip: Right-click and open the image in a new tab to read the full document.
The 1992-93 CPCC Women’s basketball team with Coach Emily Holliday. From The Spark (Vol. 42, No. 2, February 1993). (Source: CPA.035 - College Publications Collection)
Front Cover of The Prospector (Vol. 5, No. 17) featuring basketball trophies awarded to the CPCC Tigers during the Charlotte Basketball League Tournament in 1970. (Source: CPA.035 - College Publications Collection)
A basketball player about to take a shot. (Source: CPA.036 - Photographs and Negatives Collection)
Coach Ed Winch huddling with his team. From The Spark, Vol. 47, No. 5 (February 1997). (Source: CPA.035 - College Publications Collection)
Coaches Jim Foster Sr. and Jim Foster Jr. with the men’s basketball team, late 1980s. (Source: CPA.036 - Photographs and Negatives Collection)
Coach Ed Winch posing with the men’s basketball team and the cheerleading squad, 1997. (Source: CPA.036 - Student Life Collection)
“People Are Starting to Notice CPCC’s Basketball” news article from The North Meck Newspaper, December 24, 1980. (Source: CPA.003 - Presidential Papers Collection)
Tip: Right-click and open the image in a new tab to read the full document.
The 1994 Golden Isles Invitational Champion trophy. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
CPCC Tigers advertisement from The Spark (Vol. 17, No. 1, January 30, 1987). (Source: CPA.035 - College Publications Collection)
Abda Alexander, one of the winners of the intramural basketball tournament sponsored by Student Activities. From The Spark (Vol. 30, No. 2, May 1990). (Source: CPA.035 - College Publications Collection)
The CPCC Basketball Champion trophy, 1990. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
Player #31 reaching for the basket in a game against Clinton Jr. College. (Source: CPA.036 - Photographs and Negatives Collection)
The 1988-1989 Basketball Schedule for the Central Piedmont Tigers. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
Tip: Right-click and open the image in a new tab to read the full document.
The National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) Region X Handbook, 1980. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
“Intercollegiate basketball ends at CPCC” news article by William Hewitt (The Spark, Vol. 47, No. 6, March 1997). (Source: CPA.035 - College Publications Collection)
Tip: Right-click and open the image in a new tab to read the full document.
“It’s official: Men’s basketball ends at CPCC” news article by Abe Fennell (The Spark, Vol. 47, No. 7, April 1997). (Source: CPA.035 - College Publications Collection)
Tip: Right-click and open the image in a new tab to read the full document.
Students participating in Bring Your “A” Game (BYAG), a program offered by Mentoring and Coaching. Photos courtesy of Isaiah Phifer.
Students participating in Bring Your “A” Game (BYAG), a program offered by Mentoring and Coaching. Photos courtesy of Isaiah Phifer.
Students participating in Bring Your “A” Game (BYAG), a program offered by Mentoring and Coaching. Photos courtesy of Isaiah Phifer.