There were two cheerleading teams from the 1970s to the 1990s: the CPCC Tigers Cheerleaders and the Golden Star Cheerleaders.
The Tigers Cheerleaders supported both of Central Piedmont’s male and female basketball teams, while the Golden Star Cheerleaders rooted for the Golden Stars soccer team.
The Golden Star Cheerleaders disbanded along with the soccer club in the late 80s, while the Tigers Cheerleaders lasted until 1997 when the CPCC Tigers basketball team played their intercollegiate last game.
Cheerleader uniform. Donor unknown. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
Cheerleader uniform. Donor unknown. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
Cheerleader pom poms. Donor unknown. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
A cheerleading tryouts advertisement from The Spark (Vol. 25, No. 1, Spring 1989). (Source: CPA.035 - College Publications Collection)
Central Piedmont student Darlene Latrice Thompson was crowned the 1981 homecoming queen during half-time of the CPCC Tigers basketball game. From The Spark (Vol. 6, No. 7, February 15, 1982). (Source: CPA.035 - College Publications Collection)
Tip: Right-click and open the image in a new tab to read the full document.
Cheerleaders performing, 1982. (Source: CPA.036 - Photographs and Negatives Collection)
The CPCC Cheerleaders wearing custom CPCC uniforms. Photo by Greg Forwerck. From The Spark (Vol 34, No. 1, December 1990). (Source: CPA.035 - College Publications Collection)
Photo taken during Harvest Day in 1980. Two teams of cheerleaders, the soccer team cheerleaders (headed by Lisa Player) and the CPCC cheerleaders (led by Shirley Gillian), attended the event. Photo by Gloria Kilgo. (Source: CPA.036 - Photographs and Negatives Collection)
A group photo of the cheerleaders. (Source: CPA.036 - Photographs and Negatives Collection)
The nine cheerleaders chosen out of 26 women who tried out for the squad. From The Spark (Vol. 5, No. 2, October 31, 1980). (Source: CPA.035 - College Publications Collection)
