Being the second most popular athletic club on campus, the soccer club was founded in 1977 and led by head coach Miguel “Mike” Pimienta and assistant coach Tripp Lipinsky.
By 1980, the CPCC “Golden Stars” gained a large following and included CPCC students from all over the world. The team was so popular, they even had their own cheerleading squad, The Golden Star Cheerleaders!
In addition to the name “Golden Stars,” the soccer team was also known as the Tigers. They participated in the Charlotte Amateur Soccer League, Charlotte Sports Center League, and the Mecklenburg Park and Recreation League.
Soccer has continued as an intramural sport at Central Piedmont as recently as 2021.
A CPCC intramural shirt worn by the 2017 soccer team champions. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
“CPCC Fields Soccer Team” news article by Scott Scheer from The Spark (Vol. 2, No. 3, December 6, 1977) announcing Central Piedmont’s first soccer team. (Source: CPA.035 - College Publications Collection)
Tip: Right-click and open the image in a new tab to read the full document.
A CPCC intramural shirt. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
A CPCC intramural shirt. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
A CPCC soccer illustration by Bruce Maxwell. From The Spark (Vol. 44, No. 5, January 1994). (Source: CPA.035 - College Publications Collection)
Bylaws of the Charlotte Soccer League, Fall 1988. This was one of the multiple leagues the soccer team participated in over the years. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
Tip: Right-click and open the image in a new tab to read the full document.
“The Carolina Kicker,” a newsletter of the North Carolina Senior Soccer Association, referencing CPCC (on the back) as the winner/lead of Division II in 1988. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
Tip: Right-click and open the image in a new tab to read the full document.
“The Carolina Kicker,” a newsletter of the North Carolina Senior Soccer Association, referencing CPCC as the winner/lead of Division II in 1988. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
Tip: Right-click and open the image in a new tab to read the full document.
The Charlotte Soccer League Schedule, Fall 1988. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
Tip: Right-click and open the image in a new tab to read the full document.
A player about to kick the ball across the field. (Source: CPA.036 - Photographs and Negatives Collection)
Player #8 takes possession of the ball. (Source: CPA.036 - Photographs and Negatives Collection)
Player #7 from the 1980 soccer team. Photo by Chapie Chapman. (Source: CPA.036 - Photographs and Negatives Collection)
The 1980 soccer team. Photo by Chapie Chapman. (Source: CPA.036 - Photographs and Negatives Collection)
Player #8 of the CPCC soccer team. (Source: CPA.036 - Photographs and Negatives Collection)
Player #18 sends the ball across the field. Photo courtesy of Patrick Chabai.
A soccer match from September 2013. Photo courtesy of Patrick Chabai.
The 2013 soccer team with Coach Dan Bailey. Photo courtesy of Patrick Chabai.
The Charlotte Amateur Soccer League (CASL) Tournament Champion trophy, Fall 1984. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
“CPCC Soccer Team Wins Tournament” news article from The Spark (Vol. 12, No. 3) detailing how the soccer team won the CASL Tournament in 1984. (Source: CPA.035 - College Publications Collection)
Tip: Right-click and open the image in a new tab to read the full document.
The Regular Season Champions trophy from the 2002 Spring League Adult Soccer Program. Awarded to the soccer team by Mecklenburg County’s Park and Recreation Department. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
The 2001 Tournament Champions trophy from the Adult Soccer program. Awarded to the soccer team by Mecklenburg County’s Park and Recreation Department. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
The 2006 Regular Season Champion trophy. Awarded to the soccer team by the Mecklenburg County Park and Recreation EPD Adult Soccer League. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
The 2005 Tournament Champions trophy from the Adult Soccer program. Awarded to the soccer team by Mecklenburg County’s Park and Recreation Department. Beside it is a picture of the soccer team pictured with the trophy. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)