Officially “kicking off” in 1970, the CPCC Outlaws played club teams from Duke, UNC-Chapel Hill, N.C. State, Eastern Carolina, Tennessee Military Academy, Clemson, Appalachian State University, Davidson College, and more.
The team largely consisted of Vietnam War veterans and local stars who played in high school. By 1972, the North Carolina Club Football Association was formed with The Outlaws playing within this association for three seasons. Members of The Outlaws also helped to create the Club Football Association, with assistance from their head coach.
Throughout the 1970’s, participation in club football waned due to costs of equipment and field rentals, but by 1983, there was a resurgence in football — flag football, to be exact. Sadly, the flag football team only played for only a few seasons and was disbanded by the late 1980s.
CPCC Football practice shirt. Donated by Tudd Dean. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
CPCC Outlaws football helmet. Donated by Tudd Dean. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
A CPCC Club Football Recognition Award given to Dr. Richard Hagemeyer on CPCC Club Football Day, 1973: “In Appreciation for [His] Interest in CPCC Football.” (Source: CPA.003 - Presidential Papers Collection)
“CPCC’s Football Club in Action” news article by Barry Sisson from The Prospector (Vol. 6, No. 5, December 4, 1970). (Source: CPA.035 - College Publications Collection)
Tip: Right-click and open the image in a new tab to read the full document.
Greg Hall's #44 jersey. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
Greg Hall's #66 jersey. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
Greg Hall posing with his #66 jersey. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
Players #81 and #66 (Greg Hall). (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
Players #42 and #66 (Greg Hall). (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
Poster of the Outlaws vs. the UNC Rams Club Football team. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
A CPCC “Outlaws” Club Football program, 1974. Donated by Gerald Featherstone. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
The football team playing a game against UNCC. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
Outlaws vs. UNC in 1974. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
Club Football team members. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
Club Football team members. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
The CPCC Outlaws in the middle of a game. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
Half-time photo of the CPCC Club Football during a game against NC State University, 1974. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
Members of the Club Football team recounting their stories in the Central Piedmont Archives Reading Room, July 2022. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
Members of the Club Football team posing for a photo in the Central Piedmont Archives Reading Room, July 2022. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
Tudd Dean’s Club Football scrapbook, 1970s. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
Central Piedmont Outlaws team roster, 1974. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
Tip: Right-click and open the image in a new tab to read the full document.
The North Carolina Club Football Association’s team rosters for University of North Carolina and Central Piedmont Community College, 1974. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)
Tip: Right-click and open the image in a new tab to read the full document.
“Former JCSU Gridder Sets New NCCF Record” news article from The Charlotte Post (October 3, 1974), featuring CPCC Outlaws player Curtis Leak. (Source: CPA.003 - Presidential Papers Collection)
Tip: Right-click and open the image in a new tab to read the full document.
CPCC Football Club Champions Award, 1974. Awarded to Tudd Dean, member of the Outlaws team, by the North Carolina Club Football Association. (Source: CPA.051 - Central Piedmont Athletics Collection)