Collection Maintenance and Removal of Library Materials
Standards and reports produced by the ALA and SACS indicate that removing obsolete, outdated and worn and damaged materials is essential to a useful collection and should be conducted both regularly and systematically. Not only do old, irrelevant materials occupy expensive library space, but they also detract from current resources that support an evolving curriculum. Additional studies show that removal increases usage and circulation of retained materials.
Association standards suggest that from three to five percent of the collection should be evaluated for withdrawal or replacement annually. The library is guided by the following policies and also complies with the North Carolina Administrative Code regulating the withdrawal of library materials (23 NCAC 02C.0404 as described in §7.4).
General Guidelines for Weeding and Discarding Materials
Materials considered for withdrawal must include, but is not limited to, the following criteria:
❖ Availability of updated materials: superseded editions not containing unique information, data or providing a historical reference not available in the most current edition
❖ Usage: titles unused within a reasonable time period (5-10 years) based on subject and scope of the work, except for such items considered classics or standard editions. The title may be retained if it is included in a standard list or bibliography, or if the author has a reputation for being an authority on the topic
❖ Duplication: duplicate titles, unless a proven demand exists for multiple copies of a work
❖ Program profiles: materials of no relevance to or support for the CP curricula; level of treatment of the subject not appropriate for the program or course taught
❖ Accreditation: materials which no longer meet accreditation requirements due to age, subject, etc.
❖ Obsolescence: materials that contain outdated or factually inaccurate information
❖ Physical condition: items in poor condition that are beyond reasonable preservation efforts (based on student needs and availability, replacement titles may be ordered)
Guidelines for Withdrawing Online Materials
Evaluation and removal of Internet, database and electronic resources are continuing processes, using, but not limited to, the following criteria:
❖ A link is no longer available or maintained
❖ Obsolescence
❖ Program profiles
❖ Another source offers more comprehensive coverage
❖ Cost per usage figures indicate use is no longer cost-effective
Systematic Weeding - needs updating
On an annual basis various subject areas are analyzed according to an established schedule and system circulation summary and usage reports are run for selected call number ranges in order to develop a list of items to consider for removal. CD&MT members may also consult with appropriate librarians and faculty in the subjects or program areas to determine replacement needs.
The librarians/staff responsible for a subject area will submit a system report prior to weeding, or immediately following, to show age and use of the resources. A final weeding report will contain more information, such as number of items weeded and the general rationale for removing the items.
All librarians and staff may identify materials for removal during the pursuit of their regular job duties in addition to any formal weeding procedure. If a large number of materials are identified for possible removal, alert the Assistant Director for Resource Services so preparations can be made to manage the withdrawal process.
For more information please contact the Assistant Director for Resource Services.
Weeding Formula
Materials will be reviewed using the MUST-Y formula. This formula is intended to serve as a guideline for collection review. (The MUST-Y formula was adapted from: Segal, Joseph p. Evaluating and Weeding Collections. Chicago: American Library Association, 1980).
Recommended guidelines for the number of years to retain a book by subject classification, e.g., X years from publication date + years since last circulation + MUSTY. Classic and/or historic works or notable authors are often retained in the collection if appropriate for a 2-year, undergraduate academic library.
The MUST-Y Formula:
❖ Misleading
❖ Ugly
❖ Superseded
❖ Trivial
❖ Your collection has no use for this book
|
|
|
|
Exceptions, notes |
|
A |
General Works |
10/3/MUSTY |
Encyclopedias staggered in years for ordering |
|
B |
Philosophy, Psychology, Religion |
15/5/MUSTY |
Etiquette 5/3/MUSTY |
|
C, D |
History, General & Old World |
15/5/MUSTY |
|
|
E, F |
American History |
15/5/MUSTY |
|
|
G |
Geography, Anthropology, etc. |
15/5/MUSTY |
Historical |
|
H |
Social Sciences |
10/X/MUSTY |
Controversial issues represented from all views |
|
J |
Political Science |
10/3/MUSTY |
Historical |
|
K |
Law |
10/X/MUSTY |
|
|
L |
Education |
15/5/MUSTY |
|
|
M |
Music |
X/X/MUSTY |
Keep all basic materials, especially histories |
|
N |
Fine Arts |
X/X/MUSTY |
Keep all basic materials, especially histories |
|
P |
Language |
10/3/MUSTY |
Keep classical authors, basic materials; keep foreign language dictionaries only for instruction or community use |
|
P |
Literature |
X/X/MUSTY |
Keep basic materials, classical authors; discard minor authors no longer read |
|
Q |
Science Computers Anatomy & physiology |
10/3/MUSTY 5/3/MUSTY X/3/MUSTY |
Keep all basic books of significant historical or literary value |
|
R |
Medicine |
5/3/MUSTY |
Keep all basic books of significant historical or literary value |
|
S |
Agriculture, Forestry, Animal Culture, Fish Culture |
5/3/MUSTY |
Keep Yearbook of Agriculture for at least 10 years; keep books on newest technology and hybrids |
|
T |
Technology |
5/3/MUSTY |
Keep repair manuals for older cars (discard volumes which supersede others) and appliances, equipment, machinery, etc. where appropriate for collection |
|
U |
Military Science |
15/5/MUSTY |
|
|
V |
Naval Science |
15/5/MUSTY |
|
|
Z |
Bibliographies, Library Science |
10/3/MUSTY |
Bibliographies seldom of value after 10 years from date of public |
Disposition of Weeded Library Materials
North Carolina Administrative Code 2C.0403 allows disposition of weeded books and book-like materials through the following methods:
1. Local sale of books at predetermined prices
2. Donation to non-profit, tax-exempt organizations and other state
agencies
3. Public bid sales through State Surplus Property Services
Weeded materials determined unsuitable for sale, donation or bid may be recycled. These materials include, but are not limited to, damaged, old and outdated materials (including VHS tapes and audio cassettes), and periodicals.