Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Contact the CPCC Library
Phone numbers for all CPCC libraries as well as a form to email us questions or the option to book an appointment with a librarian
This link redirects to all of CPCC's streaming video collections
The CPCC Library Homepage
Films on Demand
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
A streaming video service that covers a broad range of academic and career related subjects.
Films on Demand provides closed captioning, interactive transcripts, or both options for all of its videos on the platform. Links to directions on how to find or use these features are listed below each of the following paragraphs.
If this option is available, a CC button will appear in the video control panel. Click on this button to toggle captions on and off. You may also create a Films on Demand account and set your personal preferences to always show closed captioning. Films on Demand provides instructions for setting your closed captioning preferences. While most Films on Demand videos contained closed captioning, not all do. You can use the Advanced Search feature and limit your search only to videos that provide captions.
Interactive Transcripts also available for many videos. Interactive transcripts allow you to view the full text of the video, search within the full text, or click on any word in the transcript to jump to that exact point in the video. Films on Demand provides a tutorial for using their interactive transcripts. If you prefer this format for videos, you can use the Advanced Search feature to limit your search only to videos that provide interactive transcripts.
Most films on Kanopy provide both closed captioning and interactive transcripts. Closed captioning can be toggled on and off using the "CC" button in the video player controls. Interactive transcripts can be opened by clicking the "Transcript" button immediately beneath the video player. The interactive transcripts highlight or underline the words as they are being spoken in the video. Please see Kanopy's explanation of their closed captioning and interactive transcript features for additional information.
Kanopy offers a Caption Request Tool for any videos that do not currently have captioning, providing any user with the ability to request that a film be captioned, directly from the film page in question. Kanopy promises a rapid turnaround time for all caption requests. Patrons may also use the search filters on the results screen to limit their searches only to videos that already provide captioning.
Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
Kanopy Streaming provides online videos for colleges and universities.