Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Contact the CPCC Library
Phone numbers for all CPCC libraries as well as a form to email us questions or the option to book an appointment with a librarian
CPCC Library Databases Page
The CPCC Library Homepage
Other ADA Compliant Databases
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Offers access to encyclopedias, dictionaries, and atlases covering a range of subjects from literature, to law, to science and more. All titles are full-text searchable. Credo also offers the ability to seamlessly search within other library resources such as the CPCC Library Catalog and ProQuest making it a great place to begin your research.
Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Selected full-text newspaper articles and newswires from the United States and abroad. NewsBank is particularly strong in providing access to local, state, regional, and national news.
The following list reflects The CPCC Library's largest databases. Accessibility information on all of its databases is coming soon. If you find a database that is not accessible, please contact The CPCC Library at 704-330-6885.
ADA Accessibility Features in Major Databases
Our most commonly used databases come from two companies, ProQuest and Gale. These database vendors are compliant with Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act and/or W3C WAI WCAG 2.0. They also provide information about their accessible features.
Please contact us if you are experiencing difficulties with any of our databases.
ProQuest databases contain many PDFs which are ADA compliant. However, older content was created from scanned images of original text that is not accessible to screen readers. This content is identified throughout ProQuest with the label 'Scanned image PDF.' For assistance with older pdfs, contact the CPCC Library at 704-330-6885.
For more information:
Gale databases (such as Opposing Viewpoints in Context or Literature Resource Center) provide a Listen function for full-text articles. Wherever the Listen icon is present, there is the option to have the document read aloud. The Listen tool also allows you to download the audio file as a MP3.
For more information
All EBSCOhost databases provide a text to speech option for HTML Full Text articles. However, many articles are not available in HTML. When you have located an article, click on HTML Full Text and there will be an option to listen. You can also download these audio files in MP3 format.
Newer PDFs in EBSCO are ADA compliant. EBSCO Publishing began providing its scanned PDFs with an Optical Character Reader (OCR) text layer in September 2004. For assistance with older pdfs, contact the CPCC Library at 704-330-6885.
For more information: