InfoGuides: Welding: Home

Searching

Use Central Piedmont Library's One-Search to search for books, ebooks, articles, news, and videos.

Click here for a video guide to using One-Search.

Suggested Search Terms:

Welding Techniques	Welding Metallurgy
Arc Welding	Aluminum Welding
Gas Metal Arc Welding	MIG Welding
Gas Tungsten Arc Welding	TIG Welding
Metal Active Gas Welding	MAG Welding
Brazing

Books From Our Collection

Math for Welders by Nino Marion
Call Number: TS227.2 .M37 2024 (Harper Library)

ISBN: 1685845738

Publication Date: 2024

Math for Welders was developed specifically for welding students at any level, providing a real-world approach to learning math as it applies to welding. The text begins with a basic review of math, and then progresses to more challenging math concepts. The text features hundreds of welding-related and basic math problems to provide real-world experience and prepare students for the same scenarios they will encounter on the job. This edition includes a second color in the design of the text to help clarify formulas and math examples and increase visual interest.
Oxyfuel Gas Welding and Cutting by Kevin E. Bowditch; Mark A. Bowditch
Call Number: TS228 .B59 2023 (Harper Library)

ISBN: 9781637760680

Publication Date: 2023

8th Edition - ""Oxyfuel Gas Welding and Cutting provides students with a simple, unintimidating text to use when learning oxyfuel gas welding, cutting, and allied process (brazing, braze welding, and torch soldering). This convenient write-in text is divided into 35 small, easy-to-understand units, with a series of review questions at the end of the unit to reinforce and evaluate student learning."
Gas Tungsten Arc Welding Handbook by William H. Minnick; Mark A. Prosser
Call Number: TK4660 .M53 2021 (Harper Library)

ISBN: 1645641376

Publication Date: 2021

7th Edition -"The Gas Tungsten Arc Welding Handbook is designed to help students learn and apply the knowledge and skills required to successfully join various ferrous and nonferrous metals using the gas tungsten arc welding process. This text includes an overview of safety, GTAW equipment, joint designs, welding symbols, tooling, and testing and inspection."
Farm and Workshop Welding, Third Revised Edition by Andrew Pearce
Call Number: TS227 .P3935 2021 (Harper Library)

ISBN: 9781497100404

Publication Date: 2021

3rd Edition - "The detailed sections inside Farm and Workshop Welding describe all the major types of welds, beginning with basic practices then progressing into trickier methods. You'll find descriptive explanations, helpful visuals, step-by-step directions, and expert suggestions. With this comprehensive guide, you'll learn everything you need to know, from arc welding, TIG welding, MIG welding, and gas welding to plasma cutting, soldering, and welding plastic."
Pipe Welding by Larry Jeffus; Bryan Baker
Call Number: TS280 .J44 2017 (Harper Library)

PIPE WELDING, 1E is a comprehensive guide to pipe welding that will help you take your career potential to the next level. In the surging pipe welding job market, you need to not only know basic welding techniques, such as pipe layout and assembly, you also need to master welding techniques like SMAW, GMAW, FCAW, and GTAW processes. This textbook is the practical guide that can help you become a safe, effective, and marketable pipe welder.
The Art of Sculpture Welding by Kristi Richardson McCoy
Call Number: NB1220 .M358 2015 (Harper Library)

This extraordinary seven-part book covers the processes of creating 13 projects -- from pencils to vases to bicycles -- for all personalities, skill levels and interests. It is specifically designed for students, beginning welders, hobbyists, and do-it-yourselfers. Many of the plans have been built multiple times by students and others. The plans are easy to read and the projects are meant to motivate the reader to want to learn the welding and fabrication processes. All plans include a list of materials, dimensions, special notes as needed., plus any commentaries about special equipment that might be necessary to compete the projects.
Art and Craft of the Blacksmith by Robert Thomas
Call Number: TT221 .T49 2018 (Harper Library)

Get to know the ultimate skill for using your own two hands! The Art and Craft of the Blacksmith discusses a range of blacksmithing tools, techniques, and projects, from fundamental skills to advanced forging, as well as a gallery showcasing inspiring artists using innovative techniques today.
Brazing and Soldering by Richard Lofting
Call Number: TT267 .L64 2014 (Harper Library)

Brazing and soldering are essential metal joining techniques for a range of jobs in the workshop. This new practical guide will introduce readers to the methods, and show how to enhance these skills safely and effectively, with step-by-step photography throughout. Included is advice on equipment and how to build a brazing hearth. There is also an overview of alloys, fluxes, lead loading, body and electrical soldering, and pickling and cleaning. All of this is set alongside a range of case studies to show practical technique applications. --Amazon.com.

Welding Research

Best bets for your research.

AWS Academic
AWS Academic, from the American Welding Society, provides access to all AWS electronic standards, specifications, methods and guidelines.
ASTM Compass

ASTM Compass provides searching and full-text access to current ASTM Standards, ASTM Special Technical Publications (STPs) and Journal of ASTM International, Journal of Testing and Evaluation, Geotechnical Testing Journal, Journal of Forensic Science, Journal of Composites, Technology and Research, and Journal of Cement, Concrete, and Aggregates
Materials Science Database
Articles and records on materials science related topics.
ProQuest Central
Find articles from peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers on all subjects.
Science Database
Science articles on topics such as global warming, energy, robotics, genetically modified food, and more
Science (Gale In Context)

Science in Context provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.

Web Resources

American Welding Society
The American Welding Society is a professional organization for welders whose aim is to advance the science and technology of welding. Their site provides information on careers in welding, certification and conferences.
American Welding Society Safety & Health Fact Sheets
43 free PDF documents that provide clear help in addressing common safety and health concerns.
Edison Welding Institute
EWI offers comprehensive applied research, manufacturing support services, and strategic services concerning applied research, strategic services and manufacturing support.
Welding.com
Welding.com is a one-stop shop for a variety of welding topics. A few of the welding fields we cover on our site include, boilermakers, auto body manufacturing, welding education, fabrication, manufacturing, production work and
sheet metal welding.
Welding Tips and Tricks
Recommended by Ray Sosko, CPCC Welding Instructor, this website features sections of each type of welding complete with videos, forum discussions, and educational resources.

Additional Help