CPCC Library logo

× Alert! Central Piedmont Library Services are here for you, including chat service. Please refer to https://researchguides.cpcc.edu/librarycovid19 for more information and help.

CPCC Libraries Instruction & Research Services (IRS)

The morph of library activities from a standards-based-scheme to a framework.
Christy Case's picture
Christy Case
Contact:
Phone: 704-330-6765
Email: christy.case@cpcc.edu

Information Literacy Activities

Central Piedmont Faculty

Welcome to the CPCC Library Instruction Guide for Information Literacy. 

This guide is for faculty. Activities are included for classroom learning of information literacy concepts, like the CRAAP test, understanding databases, scholarly sources, plagiarism, and more.

These activities:

  • Have been tested in the classroom
  • Are aligned with ACRL's Framework for Information Literacy

At the bottom of this page is the Library Carousel activity. This activity works well as a pre-test to evaluate how much students already know about databases, searching, and evaluating information.

Library Carousel Activity - General Introduction to Research

This is a great ice-breaker / pre-test activity when introducing research. 

Time: 20 minutes

On the 4 whiteboards are questions.  Each row is a group.  Assign a group to a whiteboard.  The possible questions:

  1. What is a database?  What is IN a database?  Give an example of one in real life.
  2. Describe the differences between a database and a search engine?  Give an example of each.
  3. You need to find 5 sources for your library research assignment.  What is an example of a source? 
  4. How can you tell if a website is trustworthy?
  5. What are some ways you choose a source for your paper/speech?
  6. What kinds of things might you find in a library catalog? 
  7. For the library research assignment, you are required to have a topic.  Write down your topic using one or two words or phrases.

Each row/group gets a different colored marker.  They start at the board and have 2 minutes to brainstorm their question and write responses.  After two minutes, they move to the next board (bringing their markers).  They can write additional responses to the prompt, or agree with the previous group(s) by adding a checkmark, OR disagree by adding a question mark next to a statement.  The colors show which groups question other groups in order to generate discussion.

Groups arrive back at their original station.  They have a minute or two to summarize what’s on the board and present to the rest of class.  Discussion ensues with “challenging” statements between groups.  Librarian facilitates.

Assessment would be a post-test, based on the original pre-test questions:

  1. What is a database?  What is IN a database?  Give an example of one in real life.
  2. Describe the differences between a database and a search engine?  Give an example of each.
  3. You need to find 5 sources for your library research assignment.  What is an example of a source? 
  4. How can you tell if a website is trustworthy?

Christy 2015: I have used this activity in ENG 111 and it works. 

  • Students are engaged
  • Boisterous
  • Argumentative
  • Usually understand pretty well what a database is and what a website is if they have to explain it on their own, without having to prove something to the instructor.