Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CPCC Library logo

× Alert! Central Piedmont Library Services are here for you, including chat service. Please refer to https://researchguides.cpcc.edu/librarycovid19 for more information and help, including information on database access.

Central Piedmont Library Tutorials: Searching Research Databases

Research Step-by-Step

Research Step-by-Step - Video advice to help with any research assignment

Need Help?

 

Ask a Librarian - a link to the CPCC Library's various options for students to contact a librarian for help.

 

Links to Top Databases

Links to Tutorials: Links to Start Searching:
Searching Summon Access Now
ProQuest Central Access Now
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Access Now
Credo Reference Access Now
Newsbank Access Now
Films on Demand Access Now
More helpful links:
Library Homepage Your portal to the most in-depth resources for research of all types. This is information you can't find via any old Google search.
Databases Browse our full list of databases alphabetically, by subject, or type.
Citation Help Always check your citations. Get help here with APA or MLA citations. View sample references, in-text citations, and papers with proper formatting.
Ask the Library Reach out to a librarian via chat, text, email, or phone. Or, schedule one-on-one appointments with librarians.
Student Resources A list of student services and resources provided by Central Piedmont Library.

 

ProQuest Central (3:17)

ProQuest Central

A large and robust database. A great place to start most research.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (2:41)

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Great for argument papers or speeches, especially on social issues.

Credo Reference (3:07)

Credo Reference

Excellent source of encyclopedia and dictionary background information.

Additional Help Videos

 

Newsbank (3:15) & Using Newsbank to find topics (2:31)

Newsbank

Perfect for gathering info about news events and for investigating local, national, and international viewpoints.

Our most recommended database for news articles has several good tools to help you choose a topic.

Films on Demand (3:53)

Films on Demand

A large collection of many different types of videos including documentaries, lectures, interviews, performances, and more.