Enhancing Research Practices

Welcome to "Enhancing Research Practices"!

This guide will provide visitors with tools and techniques for researching and analyzing primary and secondary resources for class assignments. Visitors will also learn be provided with an introduction to archives, an introduction to in-person and online research techniques, and practice lessons for research and analysis skills.

Central Piedmont Library serves a diverse learning community with seven full-service libraries on six college campuses throughout Charlotte and Mecklenburg County. Our library provides resources and services on everything from equipment rentals to research assistance.

For more information on student and staff services, please visit the links below:

• Student Resources (includes information about library equipment, study rooms, and how to get research support)
• Faculty and Staff Resources (includes information on library instruction, collection development, and staff equipment)

The Central Piedmont Archives collects and preserves materials related to the history of Central Piedmont Community College and its predecessors (Central High School, Carver and Mecklenburg Colleges, and the Central Industrial Education Center).

We collaborate with the Instruction and Research Services (IRS) team in the Central Piedmont Library to provide instruction on primary source research. Instruction sessions can be delivered either in-person or through online modules.

For more information about the Central Piedmont Archives, please visit our cpcc.edu webpage and Archives guide.