CPCC Library logo

× Alert! Central Piedmont Library Services are here for you, including chat service. Please refer to https://researchguides.cpcc.edu/librarycovid19 for more information and help.

Enhancing Research Practices

A guide to detailed research practices with primary and secondary resouces.

Contact Library Instruction

Julie Reed's picture
Julie Reed
Contact:
Central Campus
Old ATC Building
Room 212
julie.reed@cpcc.edu
704-330-6814
Website

Contact Your Archivist

Erin Allsop's picture
Erin Allsop
Contact:
Central Campus, ATC214
P.O. Box 35009
Charlotte, NC 28235
erin.allsop@cpcc.edu
704.330.6373

Introduction

Welcome to our "Enhancing Research Practices" LibGuide! This guide will provide visitors with tools and techniques for researching and analyzing primary and secondary resources for class assignments. Visitors will also learn be provided with an introduction to archival science; an introduction to in-person and online research techniques; and practice lessons for research and analysis skills. 

This instructional guide follows the same format of the in-person lessons taught during class sessions. This guide was created in collaboration between Central Piedmont Library Instruction, Central Piedmont Archives, and the Central Piedmont History department. For questions specific to this guide, contact the guide author.

Central Piedmont Library

Central Piedmont Library serves a diverse learning community with seven full-service libraries on six college campuses throughout Charlotte and Mecklenburg County. Our library provides resources and services on everything from equipment rentals to research assistance. For more information on student and staff services, please visit the links below. (Specifically for students, the student resources page is where you will find information for scheduling an appointment and research assistance.)

https://www.cpcc.edu/academics/library/student-resources

https://www.cpcc.edu/academics/library/faculty-and-staff-resources

Central Piedmont Archives

Central Piedmont Archives preserves and provides access to records documenting the history of Central Piedmont and its predecessors (Central High School, Carver and Mecklenburg Colleges, and the Central Industrial Education Center). We provide instructional services for students and staff through a variety of lessons on primary resource analysis, archival research, and digital humanities projects. Instruction sessions can be delivered either in-person or through online modules, and will incorporate basic archival research skills or specific archives collections into your class curricula. For more information on Central Piedmont Archives, or how to schedule an instructional session please visit: https://www.cpcc.edu/about-central-piedmont/college-archives.

Getting Started - Research Step by Step Guide

Video Tutorial of Archive Research Process for HIS131 and HIS236. These practices can be applied to research for other courses as well.