We are here to help! Get help via chat, text, or email.
Click the Chat Now tab located at the top right of this page.
text 704-707-4960
ask@cpcc.libanswers.com
You can also make an appointment with a librarian.
This guide contains resources for ENG 112 Writing/Research in the Disciplines.
Start your research with tertiary and secondary sources to get a better understanding of your topic.
Databases and resources that contain tertiary, secondary, and primary sources are located below.
For more information on how to search for local information, check the North Carolina Research Guide.
This resource provides access to encyclopedias, dictionaries, and atlases covering a range of subjects from literature, to law, to science and more. Credo Reference also provides Mind Maps to visually explore related concepts as well as tutorial videos on how to select a topic, how to find relevant sources, and how to synthesize your research. This database can be used for your global and national level research.
Very Short Introductions provide concise summaries of a diverse range of subject areas. All titles provide intelligent and serious introductions to a huge range of subjects, written by experts in the field. Each Very Short Introduction volume is cross-searchable, and subject overviews are available. This database can be used for your global and national level research.
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works. This database would be best to use for your global and national level research.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more. This database would be best to use for your global and national level research.
Focuses on broad issues, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming. Offers 250 different country topic pages and more than 400 Issue pages. This database would be best to use for your global level research.
The Pew Research Center is an organization that informs the public about issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. They conduct opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis, and other data-driven social science research. This resource would be best to use for your global and national level research.
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) makes millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country available to everyone in one location. They also provide Primary Source Sets that include photographs, audio clips, drawings, letters, and much more. This resource can be used for your global, national, and local level research.
Visualization and data-mapping tool with hundreds of thousands of data indicators and across demography, economy, health, education, religion, crime and more. This database would be best to use for your national and local level research.
 |
 |
 |