InfoGuides: North Carolina Research at Central Piedmont Library: Home

Local research on North Carolina issues can be challenging!

Newspaper databases have different content than Proquest.
The Charlotte Observer is not included in other databases and must be searched on its own.
Local TV News stations produce text and video media that can supplement paid content in databases.
Caution is required to separate out news reporting from advocacy when using Google as a search tool.

These resources are useful for students taking ENG 112.

ENG 112 research guide

North Carolina Databases

Charlotte Observer This link opens in a new window
The Charlotte Observer is a general circulation paper that provides local, regional, national, and international news coverage. Local news of the Observer focuses on the area schools and education, business information, banking and sports.
Full-text available from 1985-present.

Raleigh News and Observer
News from North Carolina's capital city.

NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Includes The Herald Sun (Durham), News and Record (Greensboro), and News & Observer (Raleigh). Database provides a "Search only North Carolina newspapers" option.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Includes Asheville Citizen, Fayetteville Observer, and prominent Southeast newspapers such as the Miami Herald and Baltimore Sun.

Primary Sources about North Carolina

NC Digital Heritage Center
Explore original materials from 328 libraries, museums, and archives across North Carolina.

Local News on Google

Prominent North Carolina TV News Stations
Stations in Charlotte, Greensboro, Raleigh-Durham, Asheville, and Wilmington.

Search strategy should be:

TOPIC KEYWORDS AND "NORTH CAROLINA"

Quotation marks will ensure that North Carolina is the focus and not North Dakota or South Carolina.

Google search rules apply. Avoid .orgs. Check the credentials of the website you're using by looking their publisher up in Wikipedia. When in doubt, ask a librarian using the Chat Now features if your source is credible!