Databases - ENG 114 - Professional Research & Reporting - InfoGuides at Central Piedmont Community College

Career Databases

When starting research into your career field, Ferguson's is your best bet. A mix of government and private data, is has the historical, current, and future perspectives on the industry or career you are investigating. Start there.

Use Library Chat if you need more guidance.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Explore careers and best practices for job searching, take a career interest assessment.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering a wide variety of academic disciplines.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Find articles from peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers on all subjects.
Occupational Outlook Handbook This link opens in a new window
Published by the US Dept. of Labor, the Handbook provides comprehensive descriptions of many occupations. Includes general information as well as what people in the occupations do, what the work environment is like, what is needed to enter the field, pay, job outlook, and similar occupations.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Charlotte Observer This link opens in a new window
The Charlotte Observer is a general circulation paper that provides local, regional, national, and international news coverage. Local news of the Observer focuses on the area schools and education, business information, banking and sports.
Full-text available from 1985-present.
Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly ebooks on all subjects.