Materials submitted to the College Archives are arranged and stored in acid-free folders and boxes. They are also kept in appropriate environmental conditions. A finding aid or guide will be developed for your materials and will be made available online through our archives information management system, ArchivesSpace. This guide will contain information about your club/organization and an inventory of the records.

Please note, once materials have been donated to the archive, they become property of Central Piedmont Community College and cannot be removed from the archive. They can, however, be made accessible to students and researchers during our business hours.

By donating your club/organization's records to the Central Piedmont Archives, you are preserving your group's history and ensuring that future students have access to this information.

If a club/organization is interested in donating records to the Central Piedmont Archives, please follow these steps:

1. If your physical records are not in boxes, please request boxes from the Central Piedmont Archives. Each box should be numbered and labeled with your club/organization's name.
2. Create an inventory of every file/item in the box.
3. Email a copy of the inventory to the Central Piedmont Archives and place a printed copy of the inventory inside the box.
4. Notify the Central Piedmont Archives when you are ready to transfer the records. The club/organization's leader or president will be asked to sign a Deed of Gift. A Deed of Gift is a formal and legal agreement between the donor and the Central Piedmont Archives that transfers ownership of and legal rights of the donated materials.

Please recognize that this will be the first of many donations. We recommend your club/organization creates documentation about this process or assigns the responsibility of recordkeeping to a member or officer (such as the Secretary).

At the end of every academic year (around April or May), you should consider reviewing your group's records and determine what needs to be transferred to the archive.

If you have any questions or concerns along the way, please contact us at archives@cpcc.edu.