Student Clubs and Organizations: Preserve Your History

This guide is designed to help student clubs and organizations at Central Piedmont Community College with the following:

• Identify and evaluate records to determine if they're important or if they can be discarded
• Use best practices to organize, store, maintain, and make records accessible
• Provide information on how to donate materials to the Central Piedmont Archives

By following the guidelines included in this guide and working with the College Archives, you can ensure your group's history is being preserved as part of Central Piedmont's history.

The Central Piedmont Archives is located on the 3rd floor of the Parr Center's Hagemeyer Library on Central Campus.

We identify, collect, and preserve materials that relate to the history of Central Piedmont Community College. The Central Piedmont Archives contains administrative and historical records pertaining to the Board of Trustees, Central Piedmont Foundation, College Senate, College Cabinet, Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC), Student Life, Carver College, Mecklenburg College, Central High School, Central Industrial Education Center, and WTVI. Other collections housed in the Central Piedmont Archives include the Presidential Papers Collection, College Publications Collection, Theater Collection, and Photographs Collection.

The Archives staff is working on organizing, inventorying, and digitizing these records for reference and research.

This guide was adapted from the guides and initiatives created by the University of Pittsburg (Student Organization Records Toolkit), Northwestern University Archives (Make Your Mark), and UNC Chapel Hill's Student Organizations Archive.