Second Ward High School cheerleaders posing for a group photo, 1948. (Courtesy of the Robinson-Spangler Carolina Room, Charlotte Mecklenburg Library)
Second Ward High School cheerleaders featured in the 1963 yearbook along with one of their cheers. (Courtesy of Vernie Johnson White)
Central High School cheerleader sweater, donated by Priscilla Claiborne on behalf of Jo Ann Bailey, her mother. (Credit: Central High School, AR.0031 - Central High School Collection)
The back of the Central High School cheerleader sweater, as seen in the 1959 Snips and Cuts yearbook. (Credit: Central High School, AR.0031 - Central High School Collection)
A November 1957 issue of The Rambler featuring the CHS cheerleaders. (Credit: Central High School, AR.0031 - Central High School Collection)
The Central High School cheerleaders featured in the Athletics section of the 1950 Snips and Cuts yearbook. (Credit: Central High School, AR.0031 - Central High School Collection)
A tiger illustration from Second Ward’s 1965 yearbook. (Courtesy of Vernie Johnson White)
The women’s basketball team, 1947. (Courtesy of the Robinson-Spangler Carolina Room, Charlotte Mecklenburg Library)
The men’s baseball team on the steps of Second Ward’s entrance, 1939. (Courtesy of the Robinson-Spangler Carolina Room, Charlotte Mecklenburg Library)
The football team on the lawn in front of the Second Ward High School building. (Courtesy of J. Murrey Atkins Library, UNC Charlotte)
The men’s basketball team on the steps of Second Ward’s entrance, 1929. (Courtesy of the Robinson-Spangler Carolina Room, Charlotte Mecklenburg Library)
Pauline Hoover Coffey (1929-2007) pictured with a basketball team from Pineville High School, 1946. (Courtesy of the Robinson-Spangler Carolina Room, Charlotte Mecklenburg Library)
Second Ward’s marching band, known as the “Marching Tigers,” pictured in the 1965 yearbook. (Courtesy of Vernie Johnson White)
The "Marching Tigers" standing at attention. They were led by Mr. Donnell Cooper (not pictured), director of instrumental music at Second Ward. From the 1966 yearbook. (via DigitalNC)
An enlarged version of the 1937 marching band photo from the Snips and Cuts yearbook. (Credit: Central Piedmont Archives)
A trophy awarded to Central High School’s marching band in 1938 at the Charlotte Agricultural Fair. (Credit: Central Piedmont Archives)
Central High’s 1943 football team, as pictured in the Snips and Cuts yearbook. (Credit: Central Piedmont Archives)
“The Fighting Gentlemen” football team from the 1928 Snips and Cuts yearbook. (Credit: Central Piedmont Archives)
The summary of scores from Central High School’s (CHS) 1928 football season. (Credit: Central Piedmont Archives)
Central High School’s winning “N.C. State Champs” football against a Raleigh team in 1943. (Credit: Central Piedmont Archives)
Second Ward’s football players #55, #56, and #44 (quarterback) posing for photos in 1937. (Courtesy of the Robinson-Spangler Carolina Room, Charlotte Mecklenburg Library)
Second Ward’s football players #55, #56, and #44 (quarterback) posing for photos in 1937. (Courtesy of the Robinson-Spangler Carolina Room, Charlotte Mecklenburg Library)
Second Ward’s football players #55, #56, and #44 (quarterback) posing for photos in 1937. (Courtesy of the Robinson-Spangler Carolina Room, Charlotte Mecklenburg Library)
A Second Ward student dressed for May Day or Miss Second Ward, between 1938-1942. (Courtesy of the Robinson-Spangler Carolina Room, Charlotte Mecklenburg Library)
Debutante Ball at the YMCA, 1950. (Courtesy of the Robinson-Spangler Carolina Room, Charlotte Mecklenburg Library)
A group of men posing for a photo, unknown date. (Courtesy of J. Murrey Atkins Library, UNC Charlotte)
A group of students on the steps of Second Ward High School, 1937. (Courtesy of the Robinson-Spangler Carolina Room, Charlotte Mecklenburg Library)
A group of women posing for a photo, unknown date. (Courtesy of J. Murrey Atkins Library, UNC Charlotte)
A group of men posing for a photo, unknown date. (Courtesy of the Robinson-Spangler Carolina Room, Charlotte Mecklenburg Library)
A group of women posing for a photo, unknown date. (Courtesy of the Robinson-Spangler Carolina Room, Charlotte Mecklenburg Library)
Executive officers of Second Ward’s Student Council, 1947. (Courtesy of the Robinson- Spangler Carolina Room, Charlotte Mecklenburg Library)
Second Ward’s drama class, 1929. (Courtesy of the Robinson- Spangler Carolina Room, Charlotte Mecklenburg Library)
Clipping of the Girls’ Good Sports Club, unknown date. (Credit: Central Piedmont Archives)
A 1952 Snips and Cuts yearbook highlighting different student clubs. (Credit: Central Piedmont Archives)
Clipping of the Honor Society officers, unknown date. (Credit: Central Piedmont Archives)
John and Myron (surnames unknown) posing for senior photos, unknown date. (Courtesy of the Robinson-Spangler Carolina Room, Charlotte Mecklenburg Library)
The French Club on the steps of Second Ward’s building, 1938-39. (Courtesy of the Robinson-Spangler Carolina Room, Charlotte Mecklenburg Library)
A 1940 Snips and Cuts yearbook displaying the Superlatives, a common tradition in high schools. (Credit: Central Piedmont Archives)
Central High’s Cap and Gown Committee, unknown date. (Credit: Central Piedmont Archives)
A 1939 Snips and Cuts yearbook showing an end-of-year montage. (Credit: Central Piedmont Archives)
A 1939 Central High graduation program. (Credit: Central Piedmont Archives)
A clipping of Central High’s graduating seniors from 1941. (Credit: Central Piedmont Archives)
A Second Ward High School yearbook displaying the 1965 Superlatives. (Courtesy of Vernie Johnson White)
Graduating seniors from Second Ward High School, unknown date. (Courtesy of the Robinson-Spangler Carolina Room, Charlotte Mecklenburg Library)
Two graduating students from Second Ward High School, unknown date. (Courtesy of the Robinson-Spangler Carolina Room, Charlotte Mecklenburg Library)