A meeting at Park Center, Charlotte, in 1957 regarding school integration. At the podium stands Kelly Alexander. Individuals on the stage include Gus Roberts as well as Mr. and Mrs. Counts (right, seated), the parents of Dorothy Counts. (Courtesy of J. Murrey Atkins Library, UNC Charlotte, Kelly Alexander Papers)
On display is her school diploma, senior photograph, and senior superlatives - scanned from the Central High yearbook, Snips & Cuts. (Credit: Central Piedmont Archives)
Diploma for Anna Elizbaeth Sutton, Central High School, 1928. Credit: Central Piedmont Archives, AR.0031 - Central High Collection.
On display is her school diploma. We could not locate her yearbook photograph to include in this display. (Credit: Inez Moore Parker Archives, Johnson C. Smith University)
On display is her school diploma and senior photograph - scanned from the Central High Yearbook, Snips & Cuts. (Credit: Central Piedmont Archives)
Snips & Cuts, Class of 1939 Yearbook, donated by the family of Esther Lee Harris. Credit: Central Piedmont Archives, AR.0031 - Central High Collection.
Commencement program for Central High School graudation, 1939. Credit: Central Piedmont Archives, AR.0031 - Central High Collection.
Cover of high school diploma for Esther Lee Harris, Class of 1939. Credit: Central Piedmont Archives, AR.0031 - Central High Collection.
Diploma for Esther Lee Harris, Central High Class of 1939. Credit: Central Piedmont Archives, AR.0031 - Central High Collection.
On September 4, 1957, four Charlotte Mecklenburg School applicants became the first African-American students to integrate four separate all-White public schools. Gus Roberts integrated Central High School and graduated in 1959. Other students who helped to integrate CMS that year were Dorothy Counts Scoggins (Harding High School), Delois Huntley (Alexander Graham Junior High School), and Girvaud Roberts, sister of Gus Roberts (Piedmont Junior High School). “Of the four students, only Gus Roberts graduated from the school that he helped to integrate.”
A submitted plan for desegregation, entitled “A Desegregation Plan: Charlotte-Mecklenburg School System Report of the Consultant to the Federal District Court.” This document presented analysis and recommendations regarding faculty desegregation, assignment of students to schools, and construction of new schools.(Courtesy of J. Murrey Atkins Library, UNC Charlotte, Julius L. Chambers Papers)
Central High Snips & Cuts Yearbook showing Gus Roberts on the bottom right of the page. Gus Roberts was the only Black student to attend Central High School, which he helped to integrate in 1957.
Jimmy Beatty ran track in high school and was the first man to break 4 minutes for the Mile indoors on February 10, 1962, at the Los Angeles Sports Arena. He was also a 1960 Olympian at 5000 meters, an outdoor AAU champion in the Mile in 1962, and a three-time indoor AAU Mile champion (1961-63). He graduated from UNC-Charlotte in 1957. He went on to serve in the North Carolina General Assembly as a State Representative of the Democratic Party, representing North Carolina's 36th district, in Mecklenburg County. He worked on voting rights legislation and expanding medicare.
Signed photograph by Jim Beatty, class of 1953. Credit: Central Piedmont Archvies, AR.0031 - Central High Collection.
News clippings documenting Jim Beattys track career in high school. This scrapbook was compiled by Central High Class of 53 alumnus, Russ Rodgers. Credit: Central Piedmont Archives, AR.0031 - Central High Collection.
“Hattie Leeper (AKA Chatty Hattie) was the first African American female radio personality (disc jockey) in Charlotte, and in the Southeast region of the United States.” She was born in South Carolina in 1930 and raised in Charlotte, North Carolina, attending the segregated Isabella Wyche Elementary School and Second Ward High School. She went on to attend Central Piedmont Community College. Hattie later earned a Masters in Communication and became chair of the broadcasting department at Gaston College and founder of “Chatty School of Communication.” (Courtesy J. Murrey Atkins Library, UNC Charlotte).
Frederick “Fred” Alexander graduated Second Ward High school in 1926 and pursued a lifelong career of civil justice, politics, and business. Fred Alexander was elected to Charlotte City Council, the first African American on the Council since 1890. His brother Kelly Alexander Sr., was the co-founder of the Charlotte N.A.A.C.P (his letters are on display). Together, Frederick and Kelly Alexander helped to desegregate the city of Charlotte, fight for equal rights for African American citizens, and support their communities through civic leadership. (Courtesy J. Murrey Atkins Library, UNC Charlotte).
Biographical summary of Frederick D. Alexander, courtesy of J. Murrey Atkins Library, UNC Charlotte.
Raised in Charlotte, Vernie Johnson attended Second Ward High School and graduated in 1964. She met her love, Randolph White at Second Ward and have been married since 1968; they are celebrating 54 years of marriage this year!
(Credit: Randolph and Vernie White)
Second Ward High School Yearbook.
(Credit: Randolph and Vernie White)
Raised in Charlotte, Randolph White attended Second Ward High School and graduated in 1964. He met his love, Vernie Johnson, at Second Ward and have been married since 1968; they are celebrating 54 years of marriage this year!
(Credit: Randolph and Vernie White)