Skip to Main Content
CPCC Library logo

ENG 111

This guide contains resources for ENG111 Writing and Inquiry.

Start Your Research Here

This guide contains resources for ENG 111 Writing and Inquiry.

Start your research with tertiary and secondary sources to get a better understanding of your topic.

Three desktop computers displaying images of various sources, including encyclopedias, a journal article, and photographs.

  • Tertiary sources, like encyclopedias, summarize or consolidate information on a topic or subject.
     
  • Secondary sources are books, periodicals, websites, etc. that analyze and interpret primary sources.
     
  • Primary sources are original sources and first-hand accounts from people who had a direct connection with an event or topic. Some examples include photographs, political cartoons, letters, diaries, interviews, oral histories, speeches, etc. To learn more about primary sources and how to use them, visit our Primary Sources guide.

Databases and resources that contain tertiary, secondary, and primary sources are located below.

Tertiary Sources (Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.)

Screenshot of Credo Reference's homepage.

Credo Reference

This resource provides access to encyclopedias, dictionaries, and atlases covering a range of subjects from literature, to law, to science and more. Credo Reference also provides Mind Maps to visually explore related concepts as well as tutorial videos on how to select a topic, how to find relevant sources, and how to synthesize your research.

Screenshot of Very Short Introduction's homepage.

Very Short Introductions

Very Short Introductions provide concise summaries of a diverse range of subject areas. All titles provide intelligent and serious introductions to a huge range of subjects, written by experts in the field. Each Very Short Introduction volume is cross-searchable, and subject overviews are available.

Secondary Sources (Journals, Books, etc.)

Screenshot of ProQuest Central's homepage.

ProQuest Central

General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.

Screenshot of Opposing Viewpoints In Context's homepage.

Opposing Viewpoints In Context

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

Secondary Sources (Newspapers)

Screenshot of NewsBank's homepage.

NewsBank

Selected full-text newspaper articles and newswires from the United States and abroad. NewsBank is particularly strong in providing access to local, state, regional, and national news.

Screenshot of Charlotte Observer's homepage.

Charlotte Observer

The Charlotte Observer is a general circulation paper that provides local, regional, national, and international news coverage. Local news of the Observer focuses on the area schools and education, business information, banking and sports.
Full-text available from 1985-present.

Primary Sources

Screenshot of Pew Research Center's homepage.

Pew Research Center

The Pew Research Center is an organization that informs the public about issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. They conduct opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis, and other data-driven social science research.

Screenshot of the Digital Public Library of America's homepage.

Digital Public Library of America

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) makes millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country available to everyone in one location. They also provide Primary Source Sets that include photographs, audio clips, drawings, letters, and much more.

Screenshot of Social Explorer's homepage.

Social Explorer

Visualization and data-mapping tool with hundreds of thousands of data indicators and across demography, economy, health, education, religion, crime and more

Additional Help

Step by Step Research Guide Citation Help Tutorials