InfoGuides: ENG111: CPCC Databases

Start Your Research Here

This guide contains resources for ENG 111 Writing and Inquiry.

Start your research with tertiary and secondary sources to get a better understanding of your topic.

Tertiary sources, like encyclopedias, summarize or consolidate information on a topic or subject.
Secondary sources are books, periodicals, websites, etc. that analyze and interpret primary sources.
Primary sources are original sources and first-hand accounts from people who had a direct connection with an event or topic. Some examples include photographs, political cartoons, letters, diaries, interviews, oral histories, speeches, etc. To learn more about primary sources and how to use them, visit our Primary Sources guide.

Central Piedmont databases that contain primary, secondary, and tertiary sources are located below.

Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world. Each 12,000-word report is a unique work, investigated and written by a seasoned journalist. Published 44 times a year, CQ Researcher reports offer in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Covers the pros and cons of leading Issues that are most studied and debated by students
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Visualization and data-mapping tool with hundreds of thousands of data indicators and across demography, economy, health, education, religion, crime and more

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Offers access to encyclopedias, dictionaries, and atlases covering a range of subjects from literature, to law, to science and more. All titles are full-text searchable. Credo also offers the ability to seamlessly search within other library resources such as the Central Piedmont Library Catalog and ProQuest making it a great place to begin your research.
eBook Central This link opens in a new window
Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.

News OneFile This link opens in a new window
This database is a Web-based full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Selected full-text newspaper articles and newswires from the United States and abroad. NewsBank is particularly strong in providing access to local, state, regional, and national news.
Charlotte Observer This link opens in a new window
The Charlotte Observer is a general circulation paper that provides local, regional, national, and international news coverage. Local news of the Observer focuses on the area schools and education, business information, banking and sports.
Full-text available from 1985-present.