Books and Websites - DRA142 - Costuming - InfoGuides at Central Piedmont Community College

Searching

Use Central Piedmont Library's One-Search to search for books, ebooks, articles, news, and videos.

Click here for a video guide to using One-Search.

Books

The Complete Costume Dictionary

The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Fashion and Fashion Designers

Historic Costumes and How to Make Them

The Costume Supervisor's Toolkit

Unbuttoned: The Art and Artists of Theatrical Costume Design

Websites

Fashion History Timeline

Open access resource for fashion history knowledge, featuring objects and artworks from over a hundred museums and libraries across the globe. The Timeline website offers well-researched, accessibly written entries on specific artworks, garments, and films for those interested in fashion and dress history.

Costume Collection at the Museum of the Fashion Institute of America

Digital images of garments and accessories from the 1700s through the present.

The Costumer's Manifesto

Offers extensive historical, geographical breakdown of costume history, including accessories, uniforms, costume shops, dyeing, etc.

Textile Dictionary from FabricLink
FabricLink is The Textile Resource for education on fabrics, apparel, home furnishings, fabric care, fabric stain removal, fashion trends, performance fabrics, technical fabrics, and smart fabrics.
Costume Institute Collections at The Metropolitan Museum of Art
This collection contains ephemeral and archival materials from the Institute and its Irene Lewisohn Costume Institute Library, including fashion plates, sketches, and exhibition binders.
Costume Collection at the Victoria and Albert Museum
Among the Theatre and Performance collections there are over 3,500 stage costumes and accessories - ranging from complete outfits to individual headdresses. All are a tribute to the creativity and skills of designers and costume makers from the mid 18th century to today, in every kind of live performance - drama, opera, dance, musicals, pantomime, rock and pop, music hall, cabaret, circus.
Costumes & Textiles Collection at the Henry Art Gallery
The Henry Art Gallery’s Costume and Textile Collection provides a resource for studying the construction and design of fiber-based objects, their relationship to other art forms, and their historical and cultural role in the societies that produced them.

Additional Help