InfoGuides: CRJC Research Guide: Central Piedmont Library Sources

Databases

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: A Selection of Primary Sources
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States contains approximately 1,600 primary source documents focused on six different phases of Black Freedom.
This website contains over 3,000 documents focused on six different phases of Black Freedom:
- Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860)
- The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877)
- Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932)
- The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945)
- The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975)
- The Contemporary Era (1976-2000)
Civil Rights and Social Justice
Covers the expansion of civil rights in America through government publications, legislation, Supreme Court briefs, and more.
Films on Demand
A streaming video service that covers a broad range of academic and career-related subjects.
History Study Center
History Study Center covers global history from ancient times to the present day. Over 40,000 documents and articles and links to 2,000 web sites.
Reveal Digital
Collection contains open access primary sources from a wide array of libraries, museums, historical societies, and individual collectors.
Reveal Digital contains the following collection:
- Behind the Scenes of the Civil Rights Movements
- American Prison Newspapers, 1800s-present: Voices from the Inside
- Black Periodicals: From the Great Migration through Black Power
- HIV, AIDS & the Arts
- Independent Voices
- Student Activism
Kanopy Streaming
Kanopy Streaming provides online videos for colleges and universities. CPCC has subscriptions to individual titles from this database.
NewsBank
Selected full-text newspaper articles and newswires from the United States and abroad. NewsBank is particularly strong in providing access to local, state, regional, and national news.

NewsBank via Charlotte Mecklenburg Library
*Note: You will need a CML Library card number to access this resource.*

The Charlotte Mecklenburg Library provides access to older editions of the Observer dating back to 1886, however, these older editions are image base only, which makes them a bit trickier to search through.
North Carolina Newspapers via Digital NC
This collection includes a selection of student and community newspapers from schools and towns around North Carolina. Search by town name to find all the historic newspaper titles. Please remember that these newspapers are image-based and text searches will be challenging.

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
ProQuest Central
Find articles from peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers on all subjects.
U.S. History (Gale In Context)
Includes scholarly content on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. history.

Book Recomendations

Central Piedmont History

Central Piedmont Community College: The First Thirty Years by Timblin, Carol Lowe
Call Number: LD6501.C42 T56 1995
Publication Date: 1995

Additional Help