CRJC Research Guide

• Charlotte Mecklenburg Library -- Robinson-Spangler Carolina Room
• Charlotte Mecklenburg Library -- The Charlotte Mecklenburg Story
• Charlotte Mecklenburg Library -- Charlotte Observer (Current and Historical Access)
• Levine Museum of the New South -- Recorded Programs
• Harvey B. Gantt Center for African-American Arts + Culture -- Virtual Programs
• PBS Charlotte Trail of History (select episodes)
• Charlotte Trail of History (organization)

• The Historic West End - A digital collection project from Johnson C. Smith University, showcasing the history of African-American communities and neighborhoods on the West Side of Charlotte through pictures and maps.
• Historic Charlotte Neighborhoods - An online guide/exhibit, hosted by UNCC, exploring the history of minority communities/neighborhoods with links to additional information.
• Queen City Nerve - Charlotte alternative news source, providing a voice for news, culture, arts and music in the Charlotte, N.C. area. Pay particular attention to Black History of Charlotte and Black Lives Matter sections.

• Digital NC -- North Carolina Digital Heritage Center Collection
  • North Carolina Newspapers via Digital NC -- Selection of Historic Newspapers across North Carolina 
• Documenting the American South  -- Primary Sources on Southern History (hosted by UNC)
• North Carolina Digital Collections -- Digital Collections of State Library and State Archives of North Carolina

• Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) -- a national digital library that pulls together collections from different repositories and make them accessible in one place.
• Exhibit of interest: Activism in the US
• National Archives 
• Library of Congress
• Internet Archive:  WayBack Machine -- Note: search "Central Piedmont Community College", Remember these are preserved copies of older websites, it might take time for pages to load and there might be gaps. However, electronic copies of the student publication the Spark (circa late 1990s to early 2000s) can be found with some digging.

(These are just a few recommended podcasts to check out. There are many other shows that look at race and justice in America, so feel free to explore on your own and let us know of other impactful podcasts that you think we should include here.) 

• Code Switch (By NPR)
• Justice in America
• 1619 Podcast (By The New York Times)
• Seeing White (By Scene on Radio)
• The Land That Never Has Been Yet (By Scene on Radio)
• Pod For The Cause  (The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights)
• Momentum: A Race Forward Podcast  
• United States of Anxiety 
• Come Through with Rebecca Carroll  
• Intersectionality Matters!

Charlotte Focused 

• Charlotte-Mecklenburg History with Dan Morrill 
• Charlotte Talks