Databases are academic search engines that offer research unavailable anywhere else on the web, including answers to your BIO 111 Signature Assignment questions and the research studies you're required to find. Here are some best bets:
Premier database of nursing and allied health journals with additional materials that include nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals,and continuing education modules.
Offers access to encyclopedias, dictionaries, and atlases covering a range of subjects from literature, to law, to science and more. All titles are full-text searchable. Credo also offers the ability to seamlessly search within other library resources such as the CPCC Library Catalog and ProQuest making it a great place to begin your research.
Provides access to full-text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources that offer reliable health information to researchers, including nursing and allied health students.
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works. This is the place to look for your research studies for the Signature Assignment.
Science in Context provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Research tip: This database features 'Topic Pages' on all sorts of topics including pages on "Cancer" and "Genes and Gene Expression." To see a full list of Topic Pages, click, "Browse Topics" on the upper left of the Science in Context's homepage.
In this biography Mukherjee brings to life the quest to understand human heredity and its surprising influence on our lives, personalities, identities, fates, and choices. In riveting and dramatic prose, he describes the centuries of research and experimentation--from Aristotle and Pythagoras to Mendel and Darwin, from Boveri and Morgan to Crick, Watson and Franklin, all the way through the revolutionary twenty-first century innovators who mapped the human genome.
The science of genetics is revolutionizing the practice of medicine. Using genetics, drugs are being developed from bacteria, viruses are carrying new coding instructions into human bodies, cancer treatments are targeting the specific gene mutations from which the disease arises, and individual genetic profiles are determining both the risk of and treatments for some diseases.
Create a Concept Map
Need help creating a concept map? At 18:08, this video is a little long but offers a thorough explanation of how to do it on paper, in Microsoft Word, and in Google Docs.