Help Us Transcribe Central Piedmont's Student Publications
Participants will help transcribe student publications from the Central Piedmont Archives, specifically The Spark, which ran from 1976-2005.
Dates: Wednesday, October 23, and Thursday, October 24
Time: 12:30-3:00 PM
Location: Central Campus, Parr Center, Hagemeyer Library, Room 3250 (3rd Floor)
Participants will:
"Happy Archives Month" Display
To celebrate Archives Month, we present to you a brief history of the Central Piedmont Archives.
You can also take a picture with our Throwback Frame and tag @cpccarchives on Instagram.
Dates: October 7 - 31
Location: Central Campus, Parr Center, Hagemeyer Library (across from the 1st Floor Circulation Desk)
#AskAnArchivist Day takes place on October 11, 2023.
Archivists around the world, including the Archives staff at Central Piedmont Community College, are eager to answer any questions you have about the archives field, like how does one become an archivist? What makes an archive an archive? What's the coolest archival item you've handled?
Have a question for Erin Allsop (College Archivist) and Johnamarie Macias (Archives Assistant)? Send them to archives@cpcc.edu or private message us on Instagram (@cpccarchives). Any questions we receive will be answered through our Instagram Stories on October 11!
Help us transcribe historical documents in our Archives Transcription Parties!
Participants will help with transcribing historical documents from the State Archives of North Carolina and/or the National Archives.
Dates: Wednesday, October 25, and Friday, October 27
Time: 1:00 - 3:30 PM
Location: Central Piedmont Archives, Hagemeyer Library, Room 3250
Participants are encouraged to bring their own device, but we will also have Chromebooks available to use.
The librarians at the Harris Campus Library, Rose Parkman and Kayla Price, collaborated with the Archives to create an Archives Month display about Early Childhood Education at Central Piedmont.
The History Club and the Central Piedmont Archives invite you to become a Citizen Archivist!
Archives around the world are making their vast collections more widely accessible through digitization efforts, but to make those materials easier to discover and read, they often turn to volunteers for help. That's where you come in!
On October 18, learn how you can contribute to archives online and help future researchers discover new information.
Here are the details:
Tuesday, October 18, 2022
12:00-1:00 PM
Central Campus, Parr Center,
Hagemeyer Library, Room 2180
LibGuide created by Johnamarie Macias