Start Here - HIS111/112 - World Civilizations - InfoGuides at Central Piedmont Community College

Start Your Research Here

This guide contains resources for HIS111 World Civilizations I and HIS112 World Civilizations II.

Start your research by exploring your textbook and the Central Piedmont databases below to better formulate your topic.

If you need help understanding the definition of a primary source and how to use them, visit our Primary Sources Guide.

In the sidebar navigation, you will find the following links:

Understanding BC/AD and BCE/CE - This part of the research guide will help you understand the difference between BC/AD and BCE/CE.
Primary Sources - This section contains primary source collections and resources from various libraries, archives, museums, and cultural institutions. They're divided by region (Western Europe, Eastern Europe, etc.).

World History In Context This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly content on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in world history.
World History OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.
History Study Center This link opens in a new window
History Study Center covers global history from ancient times to the present day. Contents include reference books, essays, journal articles, historical newspaper and magazine articles, maps, rare books, government documents, transcripts of historical speeches, images and video clips. History Study Center provides over 40,000 documents and articles, with over 50 reference works, 3,000 images and links to 2,000 Web sites.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.