How to Use This Guide
This guide was designed to offer EGR 150 students:
- The best CPCC Library resources for the EGR 150 research assignment
- MLA citation help
Library Quick Links
CPCC Library Citations Guide
CPCC Library's help guide for citing in APA or MLA style. It includes sample citations, sample papers, and interactive tutorials.
The CPCC Library homepage is your portal to the most in-depth resources for research of all types that you can't find via a Google search.
Contact the Library
Get in touch with a librarian via online chat, text, email, or by phone. You can also schedule one-on-one appointments!
An expanded list of student services and resources provided by the CPCC Library.
Offers video tutorials on how to search our most common research databases
Best Bets to Answer Your Questions - Databases
CPCC Library Databases - Best Bets for EGR 150
The Library has dozens of databases available for students doing all types of research. Here are some to get you started but to see our full listing, visit the Databases section of our website.
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
Career database that enables users to explore industries and careers, plan their education,and research best practices for résumés, cover letters, interviewing, networking, and salaries/benefits. Includes articles, career advice blogs,and streaming video
A comprehensive database that identifies and describes important information about occupations, worker skills, and training requirements. It is the nation's new primary source of occupational information.
Academic Journals, Trade Journals, Conference Proceedings, and more!
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
This database provides discipline-specific coverage of engineering, spanning thousands of publications, many in full text.
Science In Context
Science in Context provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.
Best Bets to Answer Your Questions - Books
CPCC Library Books and eBooks
Here are some example titles for you to start with but there are many more to choose from by searching CPCC's One-Search tool.
The Engineer's Career Guide by
Call Number: TA157 .H6183 2010
Check this book out from the Central Campus Library for 3 weeks!
This is the most complete career resource guide book for engineers dealing with the non-technical side of engineering. It provides career advice for engineers at all stages of their careers, whether newly graduated, mid-career, or soon-to-be-retired.
Careers in Science and Engineering by
Call Number: Q147 .C375 2015
Merging scholarship with occupational development, this single comprehensive guidebook provides students in science and engineering insight and instruction on what they can expect in terms of training, advancement, earnings, job prospects, working conditions, relevant associations, and more.
Call Number: ebook - read it online!
Engineering is part of almost everything we do - from the water we drink and the food we eat, to the buildings we live in and the roads and railways we travel on. In this Very Short Introduction, David Blockley explores the nature and practice of engineering, its history, its scope, and its relationship with art, craft, science, and technology.
Best Bets to Answer Your Questions - Websites
Engineering Websites - Best Bets for EGR 150
EGR 150 Citation Slideshow
EGR 150 Citation Information
Also, don't forget to check out the MLA section on the CPCC Library Citations guide. It's linked in the Library Quick Links box in the left column of this guide.