InfoGuides: EGR110: EGR 110 Research and Writing

Using This Guide

This guide introduces tools to help you be successful
in your writing assignments for EGR 110.

NC Works
Find jobs in North Carolina.
indeed Job Search
The site aggregates job listings from thousands of websites, including job boards, staffing firms, associations, and company career pages.
Monster
Job searching and advice.
Glassdoor
Find jobs and get real working salary ranges.
ZipRecruiter
Job search site with a popular app
NC Tower
NC TOWER is a web-based delivery system providing aggregate information on students who attended public universities and community colleges in North Carolina. These data include programs of study, degrees attained, further enrollment, and wage and employment information.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Explore careers and best practices for job searching, take a career interest assessment.
O*Net This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database that identifies and describes important information about occupations, worker skills, and training requirements. It is the nation's new primary source of occupational information.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Published by the US Dept. of Labor, it provides comprehensive descriptions of most occupations. Includes general information as well as nature of the work, working conditions, employment, training, other qualifications, and advancement, job outlook, earnings, related occupations, and sources of additional information.

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Find articles from peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers on all subjects.
Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides discipline-specific coverage of engineering, spanning thousands of publications, many in full text.
Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Science in Context provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.