InfoGuides: COM Library Research Assignment: COM231

COM Research Assignment Tutorial

COM Research Assignment Walkthrough (Click here for video)
See the COM Research assignment from beginning to end. The video covers finding sources, evaluating sources, and oral citations.

Use Central Piedmont Library's One-Search to search for books and ebooks.

Background Information - Start here to find some general information about your topic. Useful for finding keywords.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Find background information on many subject areas. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, and videos.
Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Very Short Introductions provide concise summaries of a diverse range of subject areas. All titles provide intelligent and serious introductions to a huge range of subjects, written by experts in the field. Each Very Short Introduction volume is cross-searchable, and subject overviews are available.

Best Bets for Scholarly Articles and Magazines

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Find articles from peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers on all subjects.

Newspapers

News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This database is a Web-based full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Selected full-text newspaper articles and newswires from the United States and abroad. NewsBank is particularly strong in providing access to local, state, regional, and national news.

Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly ebooks on all subjects.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Find articles from peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers on all subjects.