InfoGuides: ESL Resources: Databases and Online Resources

Databases

Films on Demand

A streaming films database with films on many topics (you can also access these videos through the Library Catalog search). It is accessible 24/7 with your CPCC username and password.
Films on Demand features a great video series for ESL students called “Cutting Edge Communications: Simple English Series.”

Transparent Language

Transparent Language Online is the most complete language-learning system. With over 110 languages to choose from, including English for speakers of over 30 languages, there is something for every learner.
Like all of our online resources, to access Transparent Language, you’ll need your CPCC username and password. You can also sign up for an account to save your progress. Feel free to re-use your CPCC username and password when setting up a new account.

Learning Express Library Complete and PrepStep Academic

Practice tests, interactive tutorials, and eBooks for students adult learners. Includes resources for the U.S. citizenship exam, TOEFL, and for learning English. Like all of our online resources, to access this database, you’ll need your CPCC username and password. But in order to use it, you need to create a separate username and password. Feel free to re-use your CPCC username and password when setting up a new account.

Other Resources

Reading and Grammar

Road to Grammar: This website allows students to practice their grammar and quiz themselves in the process.
Purdue Online Writing Lab: This website provides a series of lessons and resources for both ESL students and instructors.
Grammar Check: Best grammar check tool for your homework.

Listening and Speaking Websites

Voice of America English News: VOA's Learning English multimedia is a source of news and information for millions of English learners worldwide featuring thousands of lessons for beginners, intermediate, and advance students.
Antimoon: Great website to learn and polish you English pronunciation.
BBC Learning English: Learn how to speak English with the BBC. New videos uploaded daily, plus more to help learn English with a British accent.
Elllo: This website offers over 2.500 free listening lessons. Teachers and students can access lessons for beginner, intermediate, and advance students.

Apps and other useful websites

Apps and Other Useful Websites

Duolingo: Download this app on your cell phone and take advantage of all the lessons anytime, anywhere!
International House of Charlotte: This nonprofit organization serves as a welcoming place to all immigrants helping them gain the hard skills needed to succeed in the U.S. They offer programs like the immigration law clinic, citizen diplomacy, rising readers, citizenship and ESL classes, and conversational hours.
Charlotte Mecklenburg Public Library: The Public Library offers thousands of services and resources. Besides books, eBook, and databases, the Public Library offer story time and conversational hours in different languages! Check their calendar for more interesting events involving culture and community.

Read & Write

Read&Write is a literacy support tool that offers help with everyday tasks like reading text out loud, understanding unfamiliar words, researching assignments and proofing written work.

DOWNLOAD OUR FREE READ&WRITE ASSISTIVE TECHNOLOGY TOOL

Do your students need help studying for tests, writing papers, or completing homework assignments? What about everyday tasks like reading text out loud and understanding unfamiliar words?
Central Piedmont students can download the free Read&Write browser extension to make it easier to complete their work and be successful. Faculty and staff can, too.
Available in Google Chrome and Microsoft Edge. Email Disability and Access Services with questions.

Features - at a glance

	Text-to-speech: Read what I type including individual words, passages, or whole documents aloud with easy-to-follow dual color highlighting.
	Text & Picture Dictionaries: Provide deﬁnitions and display images to help with word comprehension.
	Vocabulary List: Creates a list instantly into a new doc, including selected words, the dictionary definitions, images from Widgit Symbols, and an editable notes column.
	Check It: Reviews writing for incorrect grammar, spelling (phonetic), capitalization, punctuation, verb tense and more.
	Audio Maker: Converts selected text into an audio file, and automatically downloads.
	Talk&Type: Turns the spoken word into text (unavailable for Read&Write for Mac users).

Additional Help