Criminal Justice

The United States Department of Justice is responsible for the enforcement of the law and administration of justice in the United States.

NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.

BJA provides services in criminal justice policy development to achieve safer communities, supporting programs in law enforcement, justice information sharing, counter- terrorism, managing offenders, combating drug crime and abuse, and protecting vulnerable populations.

NIJ is the research, development and evaluation agency of the U.S. Dept of Justice, dedicated to researching crime control and justice issues. NIJ provides objective, independent, evidence-based knowledge and tools to meet the challenges of crime and justice.

OJJDP provides national leadership, coordination, and resources to prevent and respond to juvenile delinquency and victimization, in efforts to develop and implement effective and coordinated prevention and intervention programs and to improve the juvenile justice system so it protects public safety, holds offenders accountable, and provides treatment and rehabilitative services of juveniles and their families.

Contains resources and links of US government websites concerning crime, prison, law enforcement, disasters, emergencies, etc.

Contains resources and links to US government websites concerning crime, prison, law enforcement, disasters, emergencies, etc.

Features the latest research about gangs; descriptions of evidence-based, anti-gang programs; and links to tools, databases, and other resources to assist in developing and implementing effective community-based gang prevention, intervention, and suppression strategies.

The National Institute of Corrections (NIC) is an agency within the U.S. Department of Justice, Federal Bureau of Prisons. They provide training, technical assistance, information services, and policy/program development assistance to federal, state, and local corrections agencies.

The Computer Crime and Intellectual Property Section (CCIPS) is responsible for implementing the Department's national strategies in combating computer and intellectual property crimes worldwide. The Computer Crime Initiative is a comprehensive program designed to combat electronic penetrations, data thefts, and cyber-attacks on critical information systems. CCIPS prevents, investigates, and prosecutes computer crimes by working with other government agencies, the private sector, academic institutions, and foreign counterparts.

The Office of Justice Programs’ CrimeSolutions.gov uses rigorous research to determine what works in criminal justice, juvenile justice, and crime victim services.

The local FBI website for the Charlotte Division with information on local FBI activities, news, most wanted, and jobs.

The official website for the North Carolina Courts System.

Founded in 1971, NCCJA's keeps members informed on current issues and serves as a voice for those involved in the criminal justice field by organizing conferences on contemporary issues for members, students, faculty and practicing professionals.

This department includes the Governor’s Crime Commission, NC National Guard, State Capitol Police, NC State Highway Patrol, Alcohol Law Enforcement, Civil Air Patrol and Victim’s Compensation Divisions.

This department's mission is to reduce and prevent juvenile delinquency by effectively intervening, educating, and treating youth in order to strengthen families and increase public safety.

Track bills, find and communicate with your State House and Senate representatives, and to follow meetings and issues before the General Assembly.

The professional organization of the NC's 100 Sheriffs working to strengthen the law enforcement services Sheriffs provide to the people of North Carolina.

The UCR Program is part of a nationwide, cooperative statistical effort administered by the Federal Bureau of Investigation to generate a reliable set of criminal statistics for use in law enforcement administration, operation, and management.

Brings together data from 200+ sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States.

This website has extensive tabular data and analytical reports on all aspects of crime and justice in the United States.

Provides free access to thousands of state, federal and local government reports on criminal justice topics.

The Bureau’s mission is to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.

The UCR Program is part of a nationwide, cooperative statistical effort administered by the Federal Bureau of Investigation to generate a reliable set of criminal statistics for use in law enforcement administration, operation, and management.

The OJJDP Statistical Briefing Book (SBB) enables users to access online information learn more about juvenile crime and victimization and about youth involved in the juvenile justice system.

This website has a list of states and territories with links to their crime statistics.

The oldest and largest international correctional association in the world, ACA serves all disciplines within the corrections profession and is dedicated to excellence in every aspect of the field.

Picture Projects and National Public Radio (NPR) present a unique collection of first-person stories, interviews, and audio diaries from inmates, correctional officers, lawyers, judges, parole officers, parents, victims, and more on the real criminal justice system. Features a timeline exploring the creation of prisons as we know them today.

The Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences (ACJS) is an international association established in 1963 to foster professional and scholarly activities in the field of criminal justice. ACJS promotes criminal justice education, research, and policy analysis within the discipline of criminal justice for both educators and practitioners.

As a professional society the AAFS is committed to the promotion of education and the elevation of accuracy, precision, and specificity in the forensic sciences through the application of science to the law.

The American Society of Criminology is an international organization whose members pursue scholarly, scientific, and professional knowledge concerning the measurement, etiology, consequences, prevention, control, and treatment of crime and delinquency.

The Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences (ACJS) is an international association established in 1963 to foster professional and scholarly activities in the field of criminal justice. ACJS promotes criminal justice education, research, and policy analysis within the discipline of criminal justice for both educators and practitioners.

Established in 1985 as the Western Regional Office of the National Center on Institutions and Alternatives (NCIA), the Center on Juvenile and Criminal Justice (CJCJ) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization promoting a balanced and humane criminal justice system through the provision of direct services, technical assistance, and policy analysis. The site focuses on services in the state of California.

A free law library site.

FindLaw.com offers a mix of cases, statutes, legal news, a lawyer directory, an online career center and community-oriented tools such as mailing lists and message boards.

The Institute for Intergovernmental Research (IIR), a nonprofit research and training organization, specializes in law enforcement, juvenile justice, criminal justice, and homeland security issues.

The mission of this organization is to build and support career development programs and systems that ensure seamless transitions by linking and integrating secondary and post-secondary education, professional certifications, and organizational recruitment, employment, training and retention systems.