InfoGuides: Architecture: Home

Searching

Use Central Piedmont Library's One-Search to search for books, ebooks, articles, news, and videos.

Click here for a video guide to using One-Search.

Architecture	Architectural Design	Architectural Style
Housing Design	Architectural Drawings	Sustainable Architecture
Classical Architecture	Art Deco Architecture	Postmodernist Architecture
Bauhaus	Neo-Gothic Architecture

Books From Our Collection

Making Places for People by Christie Johnson Coffin; Jenny Young
Call Number: NA2542.4 .C64 2024 (Central)
ISBN: 9781032413044
Making Places for People explores 12 social questions crucial to environmental design. Authors Christie Johnson Coffin and Jenny Young bring perspectives from practice and teaching to challenge assumptions about how places meet human needs. In this expanded second edition, the authors continue to explore the complexities of basic questions, such as: What is the story of this place? What logic orders it? How big is it? How sustainable is it? They consider the impact on making places of pandemic, climate change, human migration, and contemporary discussions of diversity, equity, and justice.
The Women Who Changed Architecture by Beverly Willis (Foreword by); Amale Andraos (Introduction by); Jan Cigliano Hartman (Editor)
Call Number: NA1997 .W664 2022 (Central Library)
A visual and global chronicle of the triumphs, challenges, and impact of over 100 women in architecture, from early practitioners to contemporary leaders. Marion Mahony Griffin passed the architectural licensure exam in 1898 and created exquisite drawings that buoyed the reputation of Frank Lloyd Wright. Her story is one of the many told in The Women Who Changed Architecture, which sets the record straight on the transformative impact women have made on architecture. With in-depth profiles and stunning images, this is the most comprehensive look at women in architecture around the world, from the nineteenth century to today.
Modern Architecture by Kenneth Frampton
Call Number: NA500 .F75 2020 (Harper Library)
This highly acclaimed survey of modern architecture and its origins has become a classic since it first appeared in 1980, and has helped to shape architectural practice and discourse worldwide. For this extensively revised and updated fifth edition, Kenneth Frampton has added a new section that explores in detail the modernist tradition in architecture across the globe in the late twentieth and early twenty-first centuries. He examines the varied ways in which architects are not only responding to the geographical, climatic, material and cultural contexts of their buildings, but also pursuing distinct lines of approach that emphasize topography, morphology, sustainability, materiality habitat and civic form. It remains an essential book for all students of architecture and architectural history.
Architectural Graphics by Francis D. K. Ching
Call Number: NA2700 .C46 2024 (Central Library)
ARCHITECTURAL GRAPHICS Architectural Graphics is the classic bestselling reference by one of the leading global authorities on architectural design drawing, Francis D. K. Ching. This seventh edition offers a comprehensive introduction to graphic tools and drafting conventions to translate architectural ideas into effective visual presentations, using hundreds of the author's distinctive drawings to illustrate each topic.
Climatic Architecture by Philippe Rahm
Call Number: NA2541 .R327 2023 (Central Library)
ISBN: 9781638400394
Publication Date: 2023
This book is about climate and architecture. Written by the Swiss architect Philippe Rahm, it is at the same time a monograph on the architectural, urbanistic and landscape work of the office "Philippe Rahm architectes", a manifesto for a climatic architecture to face global warming, and a theoretical and practical treatise on the art of building atmospheres.
The Iconic British House: Modern Architectural Masterworks since 1900 by Dominic Bradbury; Richard Powers (Photographer); Alain de Botton (Foreword by)
Call Number: NA7328 .B73 2023 (Harper Library)
Encompassing major artistic movements, such as Arts and Crafts, Art Deco, Modernism and Postmodernism, the houses include examples designed by architects Charles Rennie Mackintosh, Edwin Lutyens, Berthold Lubetkin, Richard Rogers and many others. 21st-century innovation and imagination are evidenced in houses by established and emerging talents, such as Seth Stein, Nick Eldridge, Robin Partington and Ken Shuttleworth. Much more than a celebration of influential homes, this richly illustrated overview is also a comprehensive guide to shifting architectural movements and ideas, a survey of great architects with international relevance and a journey through changing tastes, styles, aesthetics and patterns of living.

Architecture Research Databases

Arts & Humanities Database
Journal database covering art, architecture, design, history, philosophy, music, literature, theater, and more.
Art & Architecture Archive
A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography. The issues are presented as full-color page images; detailed article-level indexing permits quick, efficient searching and navigation of this material.
Credo Reference
Find background information on many subject areas. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, and videos.
GreenFILE
Information covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and actions to minimize negative impacts.
Career and Technical Education Database
Articles covering vocational education topics, such as building trades, automotive technology, and more.
ProQuest Central
Find articles from peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers on all subjects.

Additional Help

Architecture

Ask Us!

Translate this page

Searching

Books From Our Collection

Architecture Research Databases

Additional Help