Home - ACA122 - College Transfer Success - InfoGuides at Central Piedmont Community College

Searching

Use Central Piedmont Library's One-Search to search for books, ebooks, articles, news, and videos.

Click here for a video guide to using One-Search.

Welcome to the Library!

Services and Resources

Each library offers many different resources to help you. We have:

Books and DVDs to check out
Computers and printers to complete your assignments
Laptops and graphing calculators to check out for classes
Study rooms to use for group projects
Selected textbooks (Course Reserves) to use in the library

For more information, see our Student Services page.

Locations

There are 7 libraries at Central Piedmont:

Central: Parr Center
Harris: Harris I Building
Harper: Harper IV Building
Merancas: Merancas IV Building
Levine: Levine III Building
Cato: Cato III Building
Law Library: Inside Central Campus Library

Each library has staff who are available to help you with your research needs and many resources for you to check out. And if there's a book you want that isn't available at your campus, you can request to have it sent over-- for free!

Research Databases

Why use the library for research? As college students, it's important that when you write a paper or give a speech, you use credible sources. This means sources that you can trust. On the internet, you will find all sorts of sources, and not everything will be true. Sources provided by the library are generally vetted by experts before publication.

Additionally, some assignments you may have in college will ask you to find peer-reviewed articles. These are articles published in scholarly journals that are reviewed and vetted by other experts before being published. These are the most trustworthy articles available and generally describe original research. If you want to have the strongest support for your research, look to peer-reviewed articles.

To get started with research, check out our Research: Step by Step Guide.

Not sure which database to use? These are generally useful for most topics:

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Offers access to encyclopedias, dictionaries, and atlases covering a range of subjects from literature, to law, to science and more. All titles are full-text searchable. Credo also offers the ability to seamlessly search within other library resources such as the Central Piedmont Library Catalog and ProQuest making it a great place to begin your research.
eBook Central This link opens in a new window
Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.

Career Research Databases

Looking for more information about a specific field or career? Try these databases:

Career Coach This link opens in a new window
Career Coach offers career assessments, a resume builder, and more. From CPCC's Career Services.
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Career database that enables users to explore industries and careers, plan their education,and research best practices for résumés, cover letters, interviewing, networking, and salaries/benefits. Includes articles, career advice blogs,and streaming video
O*Net This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database that identifies and describes important information about occupations, worker skills, and training requirements. It is the nation's new primary source of occupational information.
Occupational Outlook Handbook This link opens in a new window
Published by the US Dept. of Labor, the Handbook provides comprehensive descriptions of many occupations. Includes general information as well as what people in the occupations do, what the work environment is like, what is needed to enter the field, pay, job outlook, and similar occupations.

Explore More Career Databases
The Central Piedmont Library has 10 databases related to careers and jobs. Browse through this list further to find additional sources.

Research Help

The best thing about the library? Our friendly staff is always available to help. If you have questions, don't be afraid to ask us. In particular, if you need help with research, you can get one-on-one help finding those credible sources for assignments. No matter what class you're taking, our library staff is happy to help.

Click here for help options, or use the chat pop-out on this page to get immediate help.

Additional Resources

Learning Express Library Complete and PrepStep Academic This link opens in a new window
Practice tests, interactive tutorials, and ebooks for students adult learners. Includes practices tests such as GED, GRE, SAT, TEAS, and supports those looking to improve core academic skills, pass a high school equivalency test, prepare for college, join the military, obtain occupational certification, find a job, change careers, become a U.S. citizen and much more.

How to Write College Application Essays
This guide contains resources to help you write a successful college, scholarship or transfer application essay.
Digital Literacy Learning Space Supplemental Resources
This guide provides digital literacy resources that can help you improve your technology skills, such as keyboarding and creating ePortfolios.
Tutoring (Center for Academic Success & Excellence)
The Ruth G. Shaw Center for Academic Success & Excellence (CASE) offers tutoring services as well as writing support. Students can make an appointment with a tutor and/or submit a paper electronically to receive writing assistance.
Career Services
Career services can help you decide on a major/career, build your job search plan, create a resume, practice interviewing, and manage your job search. They offer one-on-one appointments and drop ins for students and graduates.
Professional Clothing Closet
Central Piedmont is offering a weekly pop-up professional clothing closet to help students prepare for interviews and careers. All current students are eligible to select up to four gently-used outfits to build their wardrobe.

Additional Help

ACA122 - College Transfer Success

Ask Us!

Libraries and Hours