How to Use This Guide
This guide was designed to offer OTA 140 students:
- Context in research concepts
- The best resources for OTA research
- OTA 140 Signature Assignment materials
OTA 140 Signature Assignment Materials
Library Quick Links
CPCC Library Citations Guide
CPCC Library's help guide for citing in APA or MLA style. It includes sample citations, sample papers, and interactive tutorials.
The CPCC Library homepage is your portal to the most in-depth resources for research of all types that you can't find via a Google search.
Contact the Library
Get in touch with a librarian via online chat, text, email, or by phone. You can also schedule one-on-one appointments!
An expanded list of student services and resources provided by the CPCC Library.
Offers video tutorials on how to search our most common research databases
Cite Your Research!
CPCC Library Citations Guide
CPCC Library's APA style guide. It includes sample citations, sample papers, and interactive tutorials.
Purdue OWL: APA
Most comprehensive APA resource on the web.
APA Style Blog
The APA Style Blog is the official companion to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th Edition.
OTA Research, part 1: Concepts
One of the earliest and certainly the most influential definitions of evidence-based practice (EBP) is by Sackett et al. (1996): 'Evidence-based medicine is the conscientious, explicit and judicious use of current best evidence in making decisions about the care of individual patients.' The focus of this definition is clearly on the use of research to inform decision-makers and enhance their decision-making capabilities. The decision-makers appear here to be the clinicians, those responsible for the care of individual patients, and indeed the experience and judgement of clinicians is an integral part of the process. However, an unrepresented group in this definition are patients, users or clients and it is essential that their subjective values, preferences, beliefs and opinions are incorporated into the decision-making process.
Read the full article in the CPCC Library's Credo Reference database. Link opens in new window.
Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Articles
Understanding Scholarly Sources: Overview Video
A short video offering a brief overview of scholarly sources. Link opens in new window.
Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Presented here are the first and last pages of a scholarly article. Click on the highlighted areas of the article to learn about clues to look for when identifying scholarly sources.
How to Read a Scholarly Article
A brief video tutorial describing how to read a scholarly article.
Understanding Scholarly Sources: A Comparative Guide
When conducting research it is important to distinguish between journal articles and magazine articles. Journal articles are typically referred to as "scholarly," while magazine articles are usually considered "popular." A third category, "trade" magazines or journals, are written for professionals in a particular field but are not strictly research related. Here are additional criteria to consider when differentiating between journals and magazines. Link opens in new window.
Peer Review in 3 Minutes
How do articles get peer reviewed? What role does peer review play in scholarly research and publication? This video will explain. Link opens in new window.
OTA Research, part 2: Evaluating Sources
The CRAAP Test
Did you find something you think you can use? Evaluate first!
C – Currency: When was this information written or last updated? Is it outdated?
R – Relevance: Does this help your topic? Is it an appropriate level?
A – Authority: Who wrote it? What are their qualifications?
A – Accuracy: Is it supported by evidence? Any typos or other errors?
P – Purpose: Is it trying to inform, sell, persuade, or entertain? Is the info fact, opinion, or propaganda? Why is the information here?
If your source doesn't pass the CRAAP Test, then consider finding something better! Need help? Ask a librarian!
Evaluating Sources for Credibility
What does it mean for a source to be credible? Why is it important to use these sources? How can you tell if a source is credible? Brought to you by NCSU Libraries. Link opens in a new window.
OTA Research, part 3: Finding Sources
Library Research Databases
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
Nursing & Allied Health Database
This database provides over 250 full text journals, evidence based resources, and dissertations to support the study of the many aspects of nursing or the allied health professions, including physical therapy, radiography, dietetics, dental hygiene, and the clinical laboratory sciences.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Premier database of nursing and allied health journals with additional materials that include nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals,and continuing education modules.
Films on Demand
A streaming video service that covers a broad range of academic and career related subjects.
Instructions for embedding Films on Demand videos in Blackboard may be found: here
Anatomy.TV works best in the following browsers: Chrome, Firefox and Safari.
Anatomy.TV features an interactive 3D skeleton with bones, ligaments, muscles and vessels, including a collection of interactive 3D animations.
CPCC has access to the following areas of Anatomy.TV: functional anatomy, hand therapy, sports injuries, thorax, dental hygiene, and cardiovascular system.
Research from the Open Web
The American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA)
The AOTA is the national professional association established in 1917 to represent the interests and concerns of occupational therapy practitioners and students of occupational therapy and to improve the quality of occupational therapy services.
Provides access to over 11 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
YouTube playlist of tutorials on PubMed from the NCBI. Link opens in new window.
CPCC Interlibrary Loan
Books or articles may be requested and borrowed from non-CPCC libraries using this service. Remember, CPCC doesn't have access to everything - you may find a promising-looking article via Google Scholar or PubMed but may not have full-text access. If so, request it here. This link opens in a new window
OTA Research, part 4: Citing Sources
Giving credit where you find your information is an essential part of the research process and APA is the style by which OTA students have to demonstrate that.