Home - Biology 112 - Jackson - InfoGuides at Central Piedmont Community College

Searching

Use Central Piedmont Library's One-Search to search for books, ebooks, articles, news, and videos.

Researching tips:

Search: virus name + location (country, continent, region)
Other useful search terms: "medical anthropology", "cultural medicine", "disease outbreaks" AND "cultural practices"

If you need the full text of an article found online, you can request it via our interlibrary loan form

Read about Humoral Theory in Credo Reference

Read about endangered species in Global Issues in Context

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Find articles from peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers on all subjects.
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
Research on animal behavior, aquatic life, biochemistry, ecology, botany, toxicology, virology, microbiology, and more.
Global Issues (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Focuses on broad issues, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming.

Offers 250 different country topic pages and more than 400 Issue pages
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Find background information on many subject areas. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, and videos.
Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles.
Coronavirus Research Database This link opens in a new window
Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.