Skip to main content
CPCC Library logo

CPCC Archives: Home

A how-to guide with information on how to properly deposit materials into the CPCC Archives as well as information on how to best access and utilize our materials.

Mission Statement

Archives are the records created or received by an organization, person, or family in the conduct of their affairs, which are preserved because of their permanent value or historical significance. The Central Piedmont Community College Archives is the place where archival materials are stored. It is the program responsible for identifying, acquiring, preserving and making available archival materials related to the history of CPCC.

The CPCC Archives serves as the final repository for the historical records of Central Piedmont Community College. Its primary purpose is to identify, collect and preserve institutional records of enduring administrative, fiscal, legal or historical value, and to make such records accessible to CPCC administrators, faculty, staff, students and other interested persons.

Accessing the Archives

Location

The CPCC Archives are located on the second floor of the Central Campus library in room 201.

Hours

Visits to view materials are by appointment only between the hours of 8am-5pm during normal school hours and 8:30-5:30pm during the summer hours. For more information, please contact the archives or schedule an appointment by clicking the link below.

Collection Development Policy

The archives collects records that are created or received by the offices of the College in the conduct of their business as well as materials that provide contextual information about the history of CPCC and the surrounding community. Materials appropriate for the archives include, but are not limited to:

  • Legal or constituting documents (e.g. charters, constitutions, by-laws), minutes,  reports and supporting documentation, memoranda, correspondence and policy statements of the Board of Trustees, CPCC President and Vice Presidents, deans, directors, and major academic and administrative committees, including the college senate and college cabinet
  • Reports of self-studies and accreditation visits
  • Annual budgets and audits
  • Reports of the public information, community relations, planning and research, and institutional advancement offices
  • Research projects, including grant records
  • Departmental records including minutes, syllabi, reports, and sample tests
  • Records of the registrar, i.e. calendars and class schedules, enrollment records and other regularly issued reports
  • Records of academic, service, and social organizations of students, faculty and staff
  • CPCC publications
  • Photographs, films, and audio recordings of CPCC students, faculty, staff, administrators, events and facilities
  • Oral history interviews and transcripts
  • Maps, blueprints and  plans of the campuses and buildings
  • Some artifacts, as space in the archives and condition of the object permits
  • Newspaper and magazine clippings highlighting CPCC students, faculty, staff, administrators, events and facilities
  • Written histories or clippings highlighting the history of surrounding communities, especially the Elizabeth community

The CPCC Archives does not acquire records that do not document the administrative and/or historical functions of the college. These might include:

  • Handbooks or manuals for equipment
  • Non-CPCC publications
  • Research materials related to an individual faculty member's work
  • Personal correspondence or family papers

Additionally, due to federal regulations, we do not accept student records (including student assignments, evaluations, etc.) or healthcare records (such as files maintained in the health and medical faclities on campus).

Loading

Records Retention & Disposition Schedule

The CPCC Archives strictly adheres to the North Carolina Records Retention and Disposition schedule for Community Colleges. The schedule included below provides guidance on how long records are to be maintained, when records can be destroyed, and what records are to be transferred to the CPCC Archives. If you have questions about whether or not records should be destroyed, please contact the CPCC Archives. We are happy to help interpret the retention schedule guidelines and consult on records series that are not addressed by the records schedule. (To view this document, you will need an updated version of Adobe).

Erin Allsop (Librarian/Archivist)

Erin Allsop's picture
Erin Allsop
Contact:
Central Campus, LRC201
erin.allsop@cpcc.edu
704.330.6373
Website / Blog Page