The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) empowers people to learn, grow, and contribute to a diverse and better-functioning society by maximizing access to our shared history, culture, and knowledge.
The Music Treasures Consortium provides online access to the world's most valued music manuscripts and print materials, held at the most renowned music archives, in order to further research and scholarship.
The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.
The National Recording Preservation Foundation is an independent, non-profit charitable corporation established by the U.S. Congress for the purpose of supporting archives, libraries, cultural institutions and others committed to preserving America’s radio, music and recorded sound heritage.
Founded in 1955, the Society for Ethnomusicology is a global, interdisciplinary network of individuals and institutions engaged in the study of music across all cultural contexts and historical periods.
The Library of Congress has vast holdings of dramatic music of all kinds, including operas, musicals and musical revues, and film music. Sheet music excerpts from these works have been published for over 300 years. We present here a database of over 18,000 shows and productions dating from the 1690s to the present, containing more than 67,000 songs.
The first release of the online collection contains approximately 1,000 items that yield a total of about 5,000 images. These items date from 1899 to 1981, with most from the 1920s through the 1950s, and were selected from Copland's music sketches, correspondence, writings, and photographs.
The Alan Lomax Collection includes ethnographic field documentation, materials from Lomax’s various projects, and cross-cultural research created and collected by Alan Lomax and others on traditional song, music, dance, and body movement from around the world.
The American Music Creators Web Archive is a collection of websites of musicians, performers, and composers contributing to the American music scene. The collection strives to be representative of all genres of music, including jazz, classical, country, rock, Latin American, hip hop, rap, R&B, blues, EDM, heavy metal, bluegrass and many more. Sites include artists on major labels and those on independent labels or creating music and publishing it online. Biographies, event dates, appearances, music tracks, images, videos, social networks and merchandise are represented on these sites.
The Music Division is one of the world's preeminent music collections—documenting the art of music in all its diversity—classical and opera as well as the whole spectrum of popular music including spirituals, ragtime, jazz, musical theater, film, rock and world music. While the division contains many scores and manuscripts from centuries past, its curatorial mandate is an activist one, placing major emphasis on capturing the creative output of contemporary composers.
The Smithsonian Online Virtual Archives (SOVA) provides integrated access to descriptions and detailed inventories of thousands of primary resource collections maintained by archival units across the Smithsonian.