Skip to main content
CPCC Library logo

× Alert! Central Piedmont Library Services are here for you, including chat service. Please refer to https://researchguides.cpcc.edu/librarycovid19 for more information and help.

Library Projects : Home

This guide has library projects that can be claimed and completed by all library staff.

How to use this guide and complete library projects

To begin, review each project

Please fill out and submit this form with the projects you are interested in doing. 

APA 7 Database Citation Project

Project Name
APA 7 Database Citation Project
Explanation of Work Required
Go through each database (or vendor) and document if APA 7 format has been moved to in the citations offered
Resources needed
Database List on Library Website - https://researchguides.cpcc.edu/az.php
Documentation required
Create a Google Spreadsheet to document the databases and which APA version they are currently on (with dates)
Timeline and Due Dates
Open - ideally completed by the following semester
Contact for help
Joe Eshleman
Person working on the project
Justin
Other Notes
 
 

Expand resources and create libguides

Project Name
Expand resources and create libguides for classes and subject areas
Explanation of Work Required
 
Resources needed
 
Documentation required
 
Timeline and Due Dates
 
Contact for help
 
Person working on the project
 
Other Notes
 
 

Ordering of materials

Project Name
Ordering of materials - really prepping lists to be ordered.
Explanation of Work Required
 
Resources needed
 
Documentation required
 
Timeline and Due Dates
 
Contact for help
 
Person working on the project
 
Other Notes
 
 

Create Online Exhibition for Library Events

Project Name
Create Online Exhibition for Library Events
Explanation of Work Required
Identify National Celebrations that could be highlighted to students on the library's website 
Resources needed
Access to LibGuide
Documentation required
 
Timeline and Due Dates
 
Contact for help
 
Person working on the project
 
Other Notes
 
 

Identifying (and fixing) broken catalog links in libguides

Project Name
Identifying (and fixing) broken catalog links in libguides 
Explanation of Work Required
Due to a move from Encore to Summon, there are a number of broken book/ebook links in libguides that point to Encore and need to moved over to Summon links, the first step is to document these broken links
Resources needed
Access to Springshare products and spreadsheet creation (Google Sheets)
Documentation required
Create a spreadsheet that documents these broken links so that they can be fixed, another option here is to use Springshare's Link checker tool and pull out the specific links
Timeline and Due Dates
Open
Contact for help
Joe Eshleman, Garrison Libby 
Person working on the project
 
Other Notes
 
 

Open Project

Document Summons Problems Project

Project Name
Document Summons Problems 
Explanation of Work Required
Do a number of searches in Summon and document specific problems/issues encountered when searching Summon 
Resources needed
 
Documentation required
Create a Google Spreadsheet to document the searches and provide detailed summary of results (with dates)
Timeline and Due Dates
Open - ideally completed by the following semester
Contact for help
Joe Eshleman
Person working on the project
Currently Open 
Other Notes
 
 

Move our training videos to Panopto

Project Name
Move our training videos to Panopto
Explanation of Work Required
 
Resources needed
 
Documentation required
 
Timeline and Due Dates
 
Contact for help
 
Person working on the project
 
Other Notes
 
 

Create training videos.

Project Name
Create training videos. These would also need FAQs to be linked from/to
Explanation of Work Required
 
Resources needed
 
Documentation required
 
Timeline and Due Dates
 
Contact for help
 
Person working on the project
 
Other Notes
 
 

Metadata for archives

Project Name
Training to use Canva
Explanation of Work Required
Learn how to use Canva to create flyers for events, programs, etc. 
Resources needed
Access to canva.  Create a free account and practice creating flyers, brochures, etc. 
Documentation required

Canva.com

Timeline and Due Dates
 
Contact for help
 
Person working on the project
 
Other Notes
 
 

Open Project

Project Name
Explanation of Work Required
 
Resources needed
 
Documentation required
 
Timeline and Due Dates
 
Contact for help
 
Person working on the project
 
Other Notes
 
 

Open Project

FAQ Creation -Word to Google Document

Project Name
Word to Google Document FAQ
Explanation of Work Required
 
Resources needed
 
Documentation required
 
Timeline and Due Dates
 
Contact for help
 
Person working on the project
 
Other Notes
 
 

Collection Development...Review collection by subject area

Project Name
Collection Development...Review collection by subject area. Items older than 10 years, try to locate new books on those subjects.
Explanation of Work Required
 
Resources needed
 
Documentation required
 
Timeline and Due Dates
 
Contact for help
 
Person working on the project
 
Other Notes
 
 

Update campus back up manual

Project Name
Update campus back up manual: print and online
Explanation of Work Required
 
Resources needed
 
Documentation required
 
Timeline and Due Dates
 
Contact for help
 
Person working on the project
 
Other Notes
 
 

Come and pull holds, check in materials

Project Name
One day week, staff can come and pull holds, check in materials, etc.
Explanation of Work Required
 
Resources needed
 
Documentation required
 
Timeline and Due Dates
 
Contact for help
 
Person working on the project
 
Other Notes
 
 

Open Project

Project Name
Explanation of Work Required
 
Resources needed
 
Documentation required
 
Timeline and Due Dates
 
Contact for help
 
Person working on the project
 
Other Notes
 
 

Open Project